An easy appetizer for the weekend

Naan toast

I mentioned our scotch-tasting party in Monday’s post. Although Martin had the meal figured out in advance, we realized — just before our guests arrived — that we hadn’t thought about appetizers. Given that people were coming mid-afternoon to drink scotch, it seemed imperative to offer a substantial nosh that could sop up the booze and help our guests stay standing for dinner.

Enter my trusted supply of make-ahead caramelized onions. Since time was short and our menu featured lamb curry, coconut-zucchini curry and basmati rice, I picked up a few packages of Naan bread at the grocery store, covered it in a thick swath of thawed caramelized onions and a generous amount of shredded extra old cheddar cheese. I cranked the oven to 400F (200C) and popped in my concoction. Voila! I had a hearty appetizer prepared in less than 20 minutes (fortunately, I live close to the store!).

So, if this weekend you find yourself needing an appetizer to appease your Easter feasters while they await the ham and scalloped potatoes, feel free to fall back on this easy idea. You’ll find the directions for making caramelized onions in my original post.

Tell me about the instant appetizer that saved the day when you needed a last-minute offering for guests by replying in the comments section below.

4 Responses to An easy appetizer for the weekend

  1. dinnerwithjulie says:

    YUM! caramelized onions on pizza is my favorite. I like to cook a piece of bacon, then caramelize the onions in a little oil and some of the leftover bacon drippings… tastes like there’s more bacon than there actually is!

    My favorite last minute appetizer is hummus. A can of chick peas, garlic, lemon juice, tahini (or peanut butter and a drizzle of sesame oil), salt. I like to add a blob of plain yogurt, too, and sometimes some cumin. Last week I whirled a few leftover roasted carrots into the mix, and people went wild for it!

  2. Lore says:

    That sounds as good as it looks :). I find that the last minutes ideas always turn out to be the best!

  3. dana mccauley says:

    Good tips Julie – thanks!

  4. Amy says:

    One of my favourite cheats is to transfer whipped cream cheese to a serving crock and top it with a delicious spread or chutney – my new current favourite is the fig spread you can find on top of any cheese counter at the supermarket. Add some flat breads and I have an instant snack – just 3 ingredients!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

