Try a crispy poached egg

Poached egg

I’ve long been a fan of French bistro classic salads that crown frisee lettuce with poached eggs and a warm dressing. Needless to say, I was thrilled to try the lobster salad pictured above when I was in Las Vegas a few weeks ago since it contained not only those salad elements but also lobster and lentils – two of my other favourite foods! Martin and I happened into Tableau in the Wynn Hotel around lunchtime and had a really wonderful meal. It was one of the best meals we were served in LV, to be honest.

For me the panko dusted, crispy poached egg that garnished my salad was absolutely ingenious and totally novel: light and uniformly crisp coating on the outside, creamy soft orange yolk and a firm but tender set white. It was like a crouton and an egg got married and had a salad lovin’ baby. Delish!

Although crispy poached eggs were new to me, it was only a few hours before I saw this garnish on another menu at ultra fancy Joel Robuchon. A quick Google search this morning finds these crispy little orbs of protein showing up on menus in LA (at 3 Square) and a recipe for something similar from Gourmet. I haven’t had a chance to try this technique at home yet myself but I definitely have it on my ‘to do’ list. In the meantime, I’m keeping track of how often I see crispy poached eggs (with or without panko) mentioned on menus and in recipes so that I can decide if this concept is trending up or just a blip on the food radar screen. If you’ve seen crispy poached eggs somewhere recently, please take a moment to let me know.

17 Responses to Try a crispy poached egg

  1. Chely says:

    I ate at a restaurant in downtown Boston a few months ago called Brandy Pete’s. I had a frisee salad with orange truffle dressing, shaved asparagus and almonds, topped with a panko crusted poached egg. It was so amazing that I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it! I would like to learn how to make them so I can enjoy this in the comfort of my own home.

  2. Nikki B says:

    Petit Robert in Boston makes a wonderful crispy poached egg frisee salad with lardons and a yummy balsamic glaze, so good!

  3. danamccauley says:

    SOunds like this trend is popular in Boston! Thanks for checking in with this info.

  4. rodney says:

    par boil a large free range organic egg[columbian blacktail preferably]as soon as it forms submerge in iced water. Gently sprinkle with flour and pour a beaten egg over it.Then you can either pour batter over or breadcrumbs deep fry @ 130 celsius for 3mins.Use veg sunflower rapseed or grondnut oil.A nice simple way to serve this is with some baby gem lettuce leaves baby spinach leaves and some rocket .A good dressing for this is to warm up some white truffle oil add a tsp of chopped flat leaf parsley.This is very powerful dreessing so only a few drop strategicly placed. A few cristals of smoked sea salt and you have:CRISPY POACHED EGG SALAD WITH WHITE TRUFFLE OIL.

  5. danamccauley says:

    Thanks Rodney! Your expertise is appreciated.

  6. Neal says:

    Firefly in SF’s Noe Valley served a crispy poached egg as an appetizer atop grilled asparagus that was drizzled with shaved parmesan (or similar) and a butter-lemon sauce.

    So good, we went home and made the eggs ourselves the next morning, but we pan-fried it olive oil & butter instead of deepfrying. Labor/cookware intensive, so try it when you can make enough for 4-8 people.

  7. D says:

    Perry Street (a Jean-Georges restaurant in NYC). I didn’t have the pleasure of eating it but I just got back from lunch there and was intrigued enough to begin seeing how to make it…

  8. StevieVong says:

    I had the Rice Bowl at Perry St in NYC and it comes with a crispy poached egg… Tasty as hell. I am thinking french bread crumbs were used or the ones that look like little beads as apposed to regular breading.

  9. DKM says:

    Kauai Grill (a Jean-Georges restaurant in Kauai); “crispy poached egg with caviar”. Sounds like similar preparation, served with a big crouton garnished with micro-greens and sprinkled with caviar.

  10. DC Christensen says:

    I had a crispy soft egg as part of my appetizer at the Flagstaff House in Boulder, Colorado last night. It was prepared with Black Trumpet Mushrooms, Asparagus with White Truffle infused Italian Heirloom polenta. What a treat!

  11. bert williams says:

    Had a cripsy semolina crusted poached egg on a spinach salad at Scopa in Healdsburg, about an hour north of san francisco. Delicious

  12. cantabridgian says:

    another sighting in boston: russell tavern in harvard square.

  13. ninart says:

    i ate it at this brunch spot in HK, it was sans panko (nonetheless still a revelation), perched on top of avocado slices, garnished with chorizo oil and creme fraiche. yum….

  14. Morgan says:

    I just had a unique take on a cobb salad at William Hallet in Astoria, Queens. It was topped with diced tomato, avocado, blue cheese, smoked pork belly, creamy tarragon dressing and the most delicious part was the panko-crusted crispy poached egg perched on top. I was skeptical that the egg could have that crunchy texture and still have the perfect oozing yolk in the middle but they proved me wrong…loved it!

  15. MDS says:

    JCT Kitchen in Atlanta. Servies cripy poached egg with shrimp and grits. To die for!

  16. Girls Games Cooking Games For Girls…

    […]Try a crispy poached egg « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

  17. Charles wallin says:

    Bachelor Farmer in Minneapolis serves a nice golden egg salad with the encrusted egg. We loved it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

