Internet tag

June 7, 2008

My friend Julie at Dinner with Julie pegged me in my first online game of tag (who knew the Internet had so much to offer?!)

What was I doing 10 years ago?
Summer 1998 was a stressful, busy, sleep deprived time. I was working 4 days at week at the Kraft Kitchens and writing freelance food stories for Elm Street, Canadian Living and President’s Choice Magazine (remember that one?) on my extra day and at night when my toddler was in bed and my husband was cooking at Pangaea. In between I was reading proofs and making corrections on the galley for my second book Noodles Express.

For fun I watched TV shows like Barney (instead of the more mature and appealing Friends). When stuck in traffic I puzzled over big questions such as whether the Teletubbies were subversively weird or just lame. The question continues to plague me in quiet moments.

This is also about the time I discovered the Jean Paul Sartre Cookbook, a spoof that still makes me laugh out loud even though I’ve read it dozens of times.

What are five (non-work) things on my to-do list for today?
1. Go for a walk with my friend Chris P.
2. Move Oliver’s smelly leopard gecko out of his room to the reading nook so that he (Oliver, not the gecko) doesn’t get the plague from the funky smells.
3. Put away all my boots and arrange my summer shoes so that I can find them easily (yeah, I’m about two months behind on this task).
4. Pull weeds (that might be work related though).
5. Play my moves on Scrabulous.

Five snacks I enjoy:
Just 5?
1. Cheese – especially stinky stuff such as Stilton and epoisse.
2. Homemade Caramel Corn
3. Tangy flavoured potato chips such as salt and vinegar and that new Pringles extreme dill flavour. Yum!
4. Dry roasted peanuts
5. Derek’s Foie gras pâté

Things I would do if I were a billionaire:
That’s a lot of money! I can imagine easily what I’d do with a million dollars but this amount is a bit mind boggling.

Naturally, I’d pay off my bills and toss some cash at my family members so that they could be debt free as well. Then I’d donate 10% of my money to worthy charities. I’d also start a foundation with a mandate to educate people about making globally responsible food choices (end shark finning now!).

I think I’d buy a helicopter since that seems like a slick way to travel around the city (It’s funny to me that the rock band Traffic and the movie Traffic are good, but actual traffic is bad).

I might hire a stylist to dress me. I hate buying clothes and I rarely feel like I make the right choices.

More interesting, is what I wouldn’t change. I likely wouldn’t move out of my present house (although I might buy a couple more in good locations such as Manhattan and Bali). That said, I would do a whole bunch of cool stuff to my existing house and yard. First on the list would be a kick-ass upgrade on Martin’s wine room. I’d also buy a silly number of original paintings and photographs (which I’d bring home in my helicopter!).

Places I’ve lived:
Toronto/GTA, ON
Vancouver, BC
Kingston, ON (for University)
Stratford, ON (for chef school)

Jobs I’ve had:
High school jobs: counter help at Donut Window, Sears jewelry counter clerk, cashier at Shoppers Drug Mart
Later jobs: book store assistant manager, garde manger, prep cook, Canadian Living test kitchen assistant, cookbook author

Tag, you’re it!
1. Cheryl at 5 Second Rule
2. Judith at Aroma Cucina
3. Matthew at Roots and Grubs
4. Ruth at Once Upon A Feast
5. Jamie at Flavor Pantry


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.