My Sharpie: the greatest kitchen gadget of all

June 11, 2008

Earlier this week as I wrote about avoiding food waste to save money and to help the environment, I realized that I have unintentionally been holding out on you, dear readers.

Although I’ve written about some of my favourite gadgets before, the truth is, I haven’t shared information about one of my #1 essential kitchen tools: the Sharpie. Although its name may trick you into thinking this tool is a knife, Sharpies aren’t used for cutting and they aren’t sold at Williams Sonoma or a restaurant supply store. In fact, the best place to buy a Sharpie is at Staples or Walmart.

The Sharpie is a fine point tip, permanent marker. The reason it’s one of the most essential kitchen tools you can own is that any lettering applied to freezer bags, lids and labels will last in the freezer and the dishwasher when applied using a Sharpie.

As a result, I grab a Sharpie when I need to write in the label window on a freezer bag; when I need to jot the date on a plastic container filled with tomato paste to be stashed and forgotten in the refrigerator door; and, I even use my Sharpie to jot directions down on the lids of the plastic containers I use to store ingredients such as rice or wheat berries that I buy in bulk.

So, if you don’t keep a Sharpie in your utensil drawer, consider starting. They’re very handy!

Do you have an unconventional kitchen tool that you can’t cook without? If so, tell us about it below.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.