Caramel corn – at last

A few weeks ago when I was tagged by Julie (of Dinner with Julie) to play the blog quiz game, I mentioned in my answers that I love home made caramel corn. A few people asked me to post the recipe but I just haven’t had a chance to pull an electronic copy out of the archive. Until now, that is!

My friend Laura first shared a version of this recipe with me when we were roommates in university. I’ve since changed it slightly but it’s essentially the same yummy snack she and I made then.

1 bag microwave popping corn or 8 cups (2L) popped corn kernels
1 cup (250 mL) packed brown sugar
1/2 cup (125 mL) butter
1/4 cup (50 mL) corn syrup
1/2 tsp (2 mL) baking soda

Place popped popcorn in a large roasting pan; reserve.
Combine brown sugar, butter and corn syrup in small, heavy-bottomed saucepan. Cook, stirring, over medium heat until mixture comes to a boil. Continue to cook for 2 minutes without stirring.
Remove pan from heat and quickly whisk in baking soda. Drizzle over popcorn mixture and stir to coat evenly.
Place in 300ºF (150ºC) oven for 15 minutes; stir well and return to oven for 5 minutes. Stir again and cool in pan for 5 minutes. Makes about 8 cups.

10 Responses to Caramel corn – at last

  1. Rebecca says:

    Oh, I love, love, love caramel corn. My mother makes huge canisters of it for Christmas to take to friends, but I love it year-round. ;) Thanks for the recipe!

  2. Cheryl says:

    Oh my God, I just gained 10 pounds and sprouted 5 cavities reading that recipe. And guess what? I don’t care! I’m definitely going to make it. I’m a Cracker Jack girl through and through, and it has literally been years, YEARS!, since I’ve indulged.

    Thanks for responding to our pleas, Dana!

  3. danamccauley says:

    I love cracker jack as well. But, since it contains peanuts and Martin is super allergic to those little legumes, I make this homemade version w/o peanuts so that he can indulge. And, just to add more encouragement, my 11 year old son eats this sticky stuff and has no cavities at all. He’s also super skinny. Go ahead! Indulge your craving.

  4. Rosa says:

    That’s a gorgeous treat! I love popcorn and caramel! An addictive combo!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  5. oh, this is nice. I often add butter, chili powder and amchur to popcorn, but this sweet one is nice.

  6. [...] • Planter’s dry roasted peanuts (unless I’m with Martin, of course) • Shelled edamame • Caramel corn • Chimes ginger chews • Spicy chili pepper hummus (What? Like sunshine would be any less [...]

  7. Tianne says:

    this looks so good and so easy. thx!

  8. [...] from also linked to a smaller version of the recipe. Victory! I used the pared down recipe from Dana McCauley’s food blog and the presentation from Annie’s Eats and got a fun and festive snack for [...]

  9. [...] from also linked to a smaller version of the recipe. Victory! I used the pared down recipe from Dana McCauley’s food blog and the presentation from Annie’s Eats and got a fun and festive snack for [...]

  10. […] you’re sharing, make this version. It will disappear quickly. If you’re alone? Dana McCauley has a clever version scaled down to coat one bag of microwave popcorn. (Reality Check: Dana’s […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

