Seasonal squash

squash

I’m going to be honest. When autumn arrived I was a bit let down. How was I going to cope without the great lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, beans and peas I grew in my garden? What would I do without my weekly trip to the farmers’ market for organic local produce? Could I go back to the grocery store?

Then I remembered that Canada produces great squash and terrific onions. Eating local is still possible!

The picture above features a bowl of my make-ahead prep for a tasty roasted veggie side dish that we’ve enjoyed several times this fall. It doesn’t have a name, but it tastes good just the same!

And, its easy-peasy to make:
• Soften some sliced onions, mushrooms and garlic in a greased skillet set over medium heat;
• Peel and chop up a butternut squash and chop up some fresh sage.
• Place a knob of butter on a rimmed baking sheet and heat the pan in the oven until smoking.
• Spread the veggie mixture evenly over the hot pan,
• Season with salt and pepper.
• Roast for about 40 minutes or until the onions and squash are tender and caramelized.

If the only thing stopping you from making a side dish like this one is that you hate peeling and chopping squash, you can buy the prepared stuff in the produce section; or, you can learn how to do it quickly, easily and less expensively by checking out the great step-by-step instructions post on the Simply Recipes blog.

How are you coping now that autumn is giving way to winter? Are you eating fewer vegetables or finding great ways to enjoy what the store has to offer?

8 Responses to Seasonal squash

  1. Rosa says:

    That sounds and looks delicious! I love winter fruits/veggies! I eat as much vegetables as usual. In fact, I don’t miss the summer vegetables, although I’ll be looking forwards to eating them again when the cold season ends!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. I tend to eat my veggies in more soups in the winter. I’m not a huge squash fan because of the texture, so puree it in soup until it’s like velvet.

    I’ll also confess to eating non-local broccoli, green beans and salad mix. I really can’t go that long without fresh greens.

  3. danamccauley says:

    I buy those things as well!

  4. Elra says:

    Sounds really delicious, Dana!
    I do too, like to combine mushroom and winter squash.

  5. brad says:

    HI:
    I love rosted vegetables like, that, and then the next day puree them for soup, and if you have any soup left, I use it as sauce for pasta, great with a penne or rigatoni, little grated asiago on top! Perfect comfrot food!

  6. Kevin says:

    Sounds good! I have really been enjoying the local squash recently as well.

  7. Carola Koitz says:

    Sounds delicious will give it a try! Normally I rather use squash for soups!

    Thanks for the recipe..:-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

