Change Family Day to Pie Day

It’s come to my attention that our American friends have had a pretty fantastic week. Not only have they been enjoying Obamapalooza but last week they had NATIONAL PIE DAYharold_9_kinds_of_pie!  That’s right. A day devoted to celebrating double crust goodness.

What did we have?  Nothing. What do we have to look forward to? Family Day. Boring. Oh how I wish our government had made our new holiday Pie Day instead!  

What do you think – is Pie Day more interesting than Family Day?  It certainly seems more inclusive since there are some people who don’t have families while, at least to my knowledge, there is no one who doesn’t like some kind of pie.

At the very least I’m going to bake a pie for Family Day and, I’ll read Harold and Purple Crayon with my son (who cares if he’s 12 and well past these kinds of books) since Harold — who has 9 favourite kinds of pie — is truly a pastry fan extraordinaire.

 
BTW: If you are in the Muskoka, Ontario area and you like the idea of pie day, you may also be please to know that Gourmet on the Lake’s Muskoka Food Boutique has started “Fresh Pie Fridays” so that you can have a great slice of double crust goodness without getting flour on your black pants.

15 Responses to Change Family Day to Pie Day

  1. Rebecca says:

    Isn’t it odd that we have a National Pie Day, but most food bloggers don’t really push pie until Pi Day? Pi Day is celebrated on 3/14 to honor the mathematical constant of 3.14. There are even pie plates decorated with the pi sign. Any excuse to make pie!

  2. danamccauley says:

    Man- that’s just not fair. In essence you have two pie days! I’m definitely going to jump on the 3:14 bandwagon. I’ll invite Harold, too.

  3. Good idea. I’m not a double-crust fan, preferring a crumble top instead, but am willing to participate. Perhaps I’ll make an ice cream pie just to thumb my nose at Old Man Winter…

    Or not.

  4. dinedish says:

    Oh no – did I miss national pie day? I guess I did make pumpkin pie on Friday, but I tell you… I need to pay more attention to these important holiday happenings over here :)

  5. Beth says:

    Count me in for Pie Day. I’ll send Dalton McGinty a letter ASAP but I’m not sending him any pie. He certainly doesn’t deserve it.

  6. Cakespy says:

    I like the idea of taking over Family Day with pies. Seize the day!! :-)

  7. Rachel Finn says:

    I’m about to review a book by Patty Pinner called Sweety Pies and was just thinking of having a pie social with friends. I’ve never been big on pies, but the book and your post have made me yearn more for a slice or three. And if I make fruit pies, they’re healthier right!

  8. danamccauley says:

    Fruit pies are definitely health food. No doubt about it!

  9. adrian says:

    Pie Day on 3.14 is genius – shame it’s also Valentines Day…

  10. Jen Melo says:

    Yay for pie day! Can I also make a motion for a cupcake day?

  11. danamccauley says:

    Isn’t everyday cupcake day already?

  12. pixelgal says:

    We do have some great things down here in the provinces, so my Canadian friends tell me. And your kids (and their parents) are never too old for Harold and the Purple crayon. Thanks for clueing me in on the Diva website.

  13. brilynn says:

    I LOVE the book Harold and the Purple Crayon. One of my favourites.

  14. Hites says:

    Great post! Thanks…

  15. I feel that is the most info for me. With this particular content studying ones article. Nevertheless ought to paying attention on some basic elements, The site tastes is good, the particular content is at simple fact terrific : Deb. Just right task, regards

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

