Daring Bakers Ride Again

img_2470Lord knows this is not my best food photograph. Nor was this my best Daring Baker’s challenge ever. Sigh. My kitchen karma was severely out of whack when I went to make these tuiles.  The result: most of them turned out pretty much ugly.

I paired my not so pretty tuiles with my semi-famous microwave butterscotch pudding (made with homo milk instead of the 2% called for in the original recipe and with demerrara sugar for a deep, rich flavour). The recipe uses two egg yolks so it was a perfect choice as a companion for the tuiles on a practical level.

My embarrassing results sting badly; you see I used to make a version of these feather light cookies on a daily basis when, at the beginning of my career, I was the pastry assistant in a restaurant kitchen. Oh the shame! Am I washed up?  Have I lost my touch? Or, was it just a bad baking day?  Sometimes the simplest tasks can be the most humbling!

But, enough whining about my uninspired results. Visit the Daring Baker’s site and click on the links to see what my fellow bakers have cooked up. Some of their results are absolutely lovely!

Credits:  This month’s challenge is brought to us by Karen of Bake My Day and Zorra of 1x umruehren bitte aka Kochtopf. They have chosen Tuiles from The Chocolate Book by Angélique Schmeink and Nougatine and Chocolate Tuiles from Michel Roux.

26 Responses to Daring Bakers Ride Again

  1. Rosa says:

    Your Tuile is so pretty! Nice combination! Very well done, again…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Candace says:

    The butterscotch pudding sounds devine! Don’t be so hard on yourself… You know we make 20 of them for 1 perfect one! :)

  3. OH, please, Dana! I’m the one who’s had so many failures I actually have a category on my blog called “kitchen disasters”. In fact, I blogged about one today.

    I figure, if you don’t have a truly memorable failure now and again, you’re not trying anything new. Plus, they make a good story.

    By the way, I LOVE that you’re so Canadian in your writing. Anyone else spot the Canadianism?

  4. danamccauley says:

    Thanks ladies -Charmian, I totally agree sometimes the diasters are the best stories!

    And thanks for pegging me as a Canuck. I feel proud and blessed to be a Canadian!

  5. Love the idea of the polka dots – cute!

  6. Cheryl says:

    I only made tuiles once and they were kind of greasy and anemic-looking, so clearly I had no idea what I was doing. Yours don’t look half bad.

    Maybe you can crush them up and layer them with pudding and cream in parfait glasses???

  7. Such a pretty polka dot tuile! Great job!

  8. Pat says:

    I think your tuiles look so pretty! I love the polka dots! Mine came out so small I just rolled them up and used them as a pudding dipper ;-)

  9. Diva says:

    I agree that your tuile looks lovely. The polka dots are so round and perfect … how on earth did you do that? The pudding sounds really yummy and comforting too.

  10. danamccauley says:

    In all honesty, I have to say that this was my one and only good looking tuile. I found the batter far too thick and should have thinned it out instead of continuing with what I knew would fail. Sigh.

    You guys are great cheerleaders though – thanks!

  11. They are so cute! Love the polka dot pattern and the easy butterscotch pudding too :D

  12. Amy Ruth says:

    Love your dots too! Those dips and curves make more fun of the smooth sailing.
    AmyRuth

  13. Shari says:

    The smooth butterscotch and the crunchy tuile would be great together! Love the polka dots too.

  14. Cakelaw says:

    It looks good to me Dana – I love butterscotch pudding, so it’s a perfect pairing.

  15. CookiePie says:

    Looks delicious to me — and the pudding sounds fabulous! Everyone has off days sometimes — and you still came out with some pretty polka-dot tuiles!

  16. Navita Hakim says:

    Hey Dana, it isn’t feather light, but its made with love and m sure it must hve tasted good.

    my first time here and must say I love this place.
    if u can, do stop by my place sometime…wud love to entertain u :)

  17. courtney says:

    Now I love that you paied this with my favorite pudding. And I think your tuiles are cute with the polks dots. But I know what you mean.

  18. I found your blog through some sort of blog thread or another, and I found it very amusing! I will be back for more reads… thanks for sharing!

    I thought I would pass along my own blog. Don’t know if it is quite as clever, but I give it a whirl. Lots of whole foods based cooking found here:

    http://organicspark.blogspot.com

    Thanks again! Molly

  19. Dharm says:

    Sorry your tuiles didnt turn out so good – but to me, they look just fine! But you’d know best I suppose…! We all have our bad days Dana and it looks like your bad day isnt that bad at all…

  20. giz says:

    You’re pegging this as one of your not so great challenges – if this pic was on my blog, I’d probably say it was one of my best. Isn’t perception a wonderful thing.

  21. zorra says:

    Yes, there are bad hair days and bad baking days, thus I think your tuiles look good. ;-)

  22. danamccauley says:

    Oh, don’t remind me about how bad my hair is!

  23. Lisa says:

    Found you thru Cheryl. Was oogling all your beautiful pictures and stopped when I found the microwave butterscotch pudding recipe. Could this be true??? I made the stovetop version for the first time at New Years. Amazing to taste the difference from the store bought “butterscotch”. I will try this version and make my family happy campers. Off to peruse the rest of your beautiful blog.

  24. Shay says:

    Just stopped by via Daring Bakers and I love your blog (and the fact that your a fellow Canuck)! I can also relate to your problems with the tuile, I make them daily at work but when I tried to make them at home. . . well, lets just say it was sad.

  25. Jude says:

    Looks quite alright to me. How did you get the little dots on there?

  26. Diana says:

    I’m sorry you didn’t feel successful. It looks fun! I think sometimes we need those not so great kitchen moments to make the great ones feel so special.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

