My Wii fit is a mean girl

wiifit1

Image Credit: www.trustedreviews.com

Like many people, I took a break from dieting and my regular fitness regime over the holidays. While many people jumped on the resolution diet bandwagon on January 1st, I played it cool and got my fill of cold weather comfort food. Once satiated with mac and cheese, coconut curry and bacon laced concoctions of all kinds, I decided the time had come to return to my virtuous ways. (The actual truth is that my slim pants were just too tight to wear comfortably and I absolutely won’t wear my fat pants for more than a day or two.)

So, I started watching my diet and pulled out the Wii fit I got last summer. If you’ve used a Wii fit then you know that it’s interactive, with animated icons that give you instructions and other info. Although the Wii fit isn’t completely ignorant of the concept of positive reinforcement, it isn’t shy about pointing out your deficiencies either.

My first day back it informed me in rather large font (damn that large TV screen) that

• I had gained 6 pounds,
• it had been 153 days since I last used it (I wanted to shout that I’d played tennis all last fall but the machine just doesn’t listen!),
• that my Wii fit age was 3 years older than my chronological age,
• I have terrible balance.

Wow, I felt good about myself before my work out. Really great. Sheesh! I almost got off and got a cookie to make myself feel better!

While I know that I need to face the fact that I’m not in tip top shape, I’m not sure I’m the kind of person who does well with tough love. A little back-patting goes a long way to motivating me with my diet and fitness goals. What about you – do you need a drill sergeant or a cheerleader to help you stick to your fitness regime?

19 Responses to My Wii fit is a mean girl

  1. danamccauley says:

    I just want to point out that the image above is not my mii and that I have a BMI in the 24 range. Honest.

  2. Sheryl says:

    Heh… I was going to point out (still am, I guess) that 10 years ago, that BMI would have been considered “normal”. Until the World Health Organization changed the numbers at the behest of a group of drug companies (all of whom, coincidentally, sell diet drugs), 27.4 was the limit between normal and overweight for women.

    Not that the BMI means anything anyway – it’s a useless measurement that was never intended to be used to calculate a healthy weight, as it does not include age, sex, frame size, muscle mass, overall fitness or other health issues that might affect weight gain or loss.

  3. danamccauley says:

    That’s interesting, Sheryl. I did know that the threshold had changed but I didn’t know about the second point you made.

  4. cheryl says:

    I’m fortunate that I don’t need to diet per se, but I do find my weight fluctuates about 4 or 5 pounds, depending on what I eat/how often I exercise.

    My kids play on our Wii. I’m so horrid at the tennis and other games, though, that I haven’t yet invested in a Wii Fit for myself. I’m not sure whether your post has inspired me to look into one or scared me off completely.

  5. Hélène says:

    I don’t have a Wii but heard about it. It’s hard to keep with a fitness regiment. I did buy some DVDs and do them at home because I don’t like to go to a gym. I also like to walk, but sometimes need a kick in the b…

    They only time I will stick to exercise is to go to dance class. I love it and it’s fun but it’s only once a week. I wish it was 3 times a week.

  6. Cakespy says:

    Eep! Mean Wii!! I haven’t tried it but am not sure if I could take it! My older sis is a personal trainer and I try to avoid her drill-sergeant (sp?) attitude. I have a more…shall we say laissez-faire attitude toward fitness?

  7. Left to my own devices, I’d rarely exercise. However, since I’m socially motivated, I’ll do almost any activity with a friend. I walk in the morning with my sister, go to dance class Monday night with friends and Pilates on Wednesday with another.

    I don’t have Wii and don’t know if I could handle having my BMI and slovenly ways posted to a big screen.

    Hmmm. But I’ll out myself on the Internet?

  8. I always thought the Wii was a gimmick until I saw my nephews – 14 and 15 y/o playing on their Wii Fit that they got for Christmas. They’re a couple of “big lads” and they were sure getting a work out from it!

  9. Elra says:

    I don’t own wii but, I exercise regularly, strenuous hike on the week-end, kickboxing twice a week, and core training twice a week. So, wish me luck!
    Cheers,
    Elra

  10. I have been hearing so many good things about Wii Fit and have been considering purchasing one. I am a little nervous that I will get it and then never use it. I do several exercise videos including, Jazzercise, Yoga and others. I am thinking that sinec I like exercising at home on my treadmill or exercis bike and walking with friends. (No gyms for me). That Wii Fit might be just what I need.

    Buon appetito,

    Carmela

  11. danamccauley says:

    Carmela, it’s generally a really good system. I think you might be disappointed by the wii fit yoga – if you’ve done the real thing, it doesn’t measure up – but the other stuff is really fun and easy to get into. I think someone who enjoys videos is a natural to enjoy the wii fit.

  12. Heather says:

    I need a companion to get me motivated. I find exercising alone lonely and therefore don’t enjoy it. Exercising with a partner gives me someone to share the time with. Unfortunately, I’ve had a hard time finding someone who will stick with me for the long haul. I enjoy going to aquasize, but can only go once a week for lets see… I think 6 more weeks. Being a stay at home mom makes it difficult for me to “go” somewhere to exercise. I crave exercise, but need to find a companion to help keep me motivated.

  13. Jude says:

    Wow that’s the kind of info Wii Fit tells you? Somehow I feel like getting it even if it might tick me off eventually.

  14. Kristen says:

    LOL – that is exactly why I stopped getting on it when I became pregnant… the tough love vibe it was giving me was not cool!

  15. Hey,
    Interesting blog, I just stumbled on it and I’m already a subscriber
    I hope it’s not against netiquette but I have just started blogging
    my own weight loss(I lost 30 pounds in a month, so I’m happy
    , and I was wondering if you could post
    my diet for your blog readers.
    My most recent blog post is
    quick weight loss diet
    If you want to do a link exchange
    that would be amazing because I want to share my weight loss success
    with everyone. If I can lose weight then
    any one can. Whatever you do, don’t give up and you WILL
    achieve all your weight loss goals!
    with kind regards,
    Joan

  16. danamccauley says:

    Good luck Joan – I’ll be sure to keep track of your progress.

    Kristen – congrats on your good news! The wii will always be there waiting for you when you’re on the losing track instead of the gaining. : )

  17. Very well written. This is the kind of information that is useful to those want to increase their SERP’s. Keep up the good work.

  18. Slimmy says:

    Yesss…, i get good idea after read this post. Thanks for the inspiration

  19. Giselle says:

    Also, take the Wii fit age calculation with a huge pinch of salt.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

