Pie Day Tarte Tatin

tartetatinAs much as I love my own family and as glad as I am to have a government holiday today, I still want to change the name of  our  holiday from Family Day to Pie Day. I’ve already voiced my reasons so I won’t bore you by repeating them again; however, I will share with you the pie that I’ll be making for my family today: a warm, wonderful tarte tatin!

This classic French dessert uses puff pastry but my version can be made with short pastry, too.

 

Classic Tarte Tatin

6 peeled, cored, thickly sliced firm apples,

such as Gala, Spy or Spartan

2 tbsp (30 mL) lemon juice

1 tsp (5 mL) cinnamon

1/4 cup (50 mL) butter

1/2 cup (125 mL) granulated sugar

 8 oz (250 g) pkg thawed, frozen puff pastry

rolled to fit over skillet

Preheat oven to 425oF (220oC). Toss apple slices with lemon juice and cinnamon. Melt butter in a 12-inch (30 cm) ovenproof skillet set over medium-high heat. Sprinkle in the sugar and stir to combine. Arrange apples in pan in a circular pattern. Reduce heat to medium and cook, without stirring, for 15 minutes or until a golden caramel has formed in the pan.

Arrange  the pastry over top of fruit so that apples are completely covered. Fold over the edge of the pastry to fit inside the pan snugly. Transfer pie to the preheated oven. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes if using puff pastry or until pastry is golden and crisp. (If using short pastry, reduce baking time by about 5 minutes.) Turn pie out onto a large platter. Spoon any juices remaining in pan over top of pie. Makes 8 servings. 

Tips:

- Serve with whipped cream, vanilla ice cream or thinly sliced pieces of aged cheddar cheese.

- If using frozen apple slices, defrost completely and drain well before adding to pan.

Happy Family Day! See you back here tomorrow.

10 Responses to Pie Day Tarte Tatin

  1. Rosa says:

    I’ll have mine with vanilla ice cream, please ;-P… It looks delicious!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Elra says:

    Love this specialty, it is the best!
    Cheers,
    Elra

  3. Elra says:

    And oh, I eat it just like that! my husband and my son, love it with chocolate and vanilla ice cream.
    Cheers,
    Elra

  4. I can’t show this to my husband. He’ll want me to start this tradition. He loves apple pie — a bit too much.

    Love the idea of the puff pastry. Hope your family appreciates what you do for them.

  5. Cheryl says:

    I have such amazing memories of Tarte Tatin from my days in France. I’ve made it myself, but not for many years. Yours looks very neat… mine was always such a gloppy mess, with the caramel dripping everywhere!

  6. danamccauley says:

    Dripping caramel sounds like a good thing! I find the results vary depending on the apples, the pan, etc…

    And Char, they do seem to appreciate my baking quite a lot. Good pair of boys I have!

  7. Hélène says:

    This looks so good. I would love it with vanilla ice cream.

  8. Kevin says:

    That tarte tatin looks really good!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

