Voodoo knife block

voodooLooking for a gift for a foodie with a sense of humour? This cartoony knife block would look great in a sleek modern kitchen. I love the red and black version and the silver one sort of reminds me of those little kinetic motion desk toys that were popular in the eighties. Does anyone else remember them?

I already have a knife block that I quite like and, while I do think this voodoo man is pretty cool, he really wouldn’t match my kitchen so this dude won’t be making an appearance chez moi. That said, I’d love to give it to someone as a gift and I’m scanning wedding invitations accordingly!

Where do you store your knives? Do they clink around in a drawer or stand at the ready in a block or on a magnetic wall strip?

22 Responses to Voodoo knife block

  1. Rosa says:

    I’d love one of these! Hilarious!

    I stock my big knives in their original box…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. danamccauley says:

    Rosa,
    Isn’t it a hassle to have to open the box everytime you want to chop a carrot?

  3. Hilarious. I love this, but don’t think it’s going to make an appearance in my kitchen either.

    I use an inexpensive PC knife block. It’s got a wooden frame, but the inside is filled with what looks like plastic broom bristles. It takes any sized knife and there’s no risk of dulling the blade.

  4. cheryl says:

    I use a knife block, too, but that’s hilarious. Dark, but hilarious.

  5. Elra says:

    Ouch, looks horrid to me.
    Cheers,
    Elra

  6. Diva says:

    Like you, I’m going to be searching for the perfect recipient of this wild knife block! Its a hoot! Not right for my kitchen either, but its got to be perfect for someone. I store my knives in a standard, boring block.

  7. I’m not a big fan of knife blocks because 1) they take up precious counter space; 2) they won’t hold most of my knives; 3) they can be a lingering source of bacteria; and 4) depending on the design, they can dull a knife. If I had sufficient space between my counters and the cabinets above, I’d use magnetic bars to hold my everyday knives, but instead I use individual plastic sleeves and store the knives in two drawers.

  8. danamccauley says:

    We use the magnet system at the test kitchen and I have to say that I do like it very much.

  9. Barb says:

    I use a knife block as well but it doesn’t hold them all. I store the others in cardboard sleeves in a drawer. Magnetic strip sounds interesting but also sounds like something else that gets stickey. when not often used.

  10. Martin Kouprie says:

    In the kitchen at Pangaea, we store our knives in a mechanics tool chest on wheels. Each cook has his or her own drawer to store their knives in.

    I do like this knife block; it reminds me of acupuncture!

  11. John Biggs says:

    Love it, and would buy one for our kitchen…and yes, since no one else has mentioned them I not only remember the kinetic motion toys, I still have – somewhere – the (most popular/common) five-ball swinging toy, a skier and a rider on horseback – and obviously thought they were very cool.

  12. Cakespy says:

    I have this knife block in apple-green! I LOVE it so much. We always get compliments when visitors come over.

  13. danamccauley says:

    Apple green – now that sounds good! In fact, it would coordinate well with my orange espresso machine!

  14. jb says:

    Hilarious -no. Offensive- yes.
    Why would you want a depiction of a human figure with giant stab wounds hanging around in your kitchen?

  15. darla says:

    I love this knife “block” I have a traditional block but store my knives in it blade edge up to avoid dulling. I have not read anything about it, but I just believe that over time, sliding in and out would dull the blade, so I thought of this. My family has adjusted.

  16. Frank says:

    Hi, I bought the voodoo knife set from http://www.wowdesignergiftware.com.au but a month after i had look at their cool gifts and came accross the Heart knife set and absolutely fell in love with it. The knives are swiss knives too. We always look for a good knife set and their prices are really cheap.
    have a look at their site, you wont get bored!

  17. Voodoo knife block design is very interesting and hilarious. I always received good and some funny compliments to my gust.

  18. tom r. says:

    Ya, I’m looking for someone who will give me that gift…I agree that knife block would look great in sleek modern kitchen.. I store my knives that stand at the ready in a block..haha :D

  19. Kenneth says:

    It is very cool and I love it! It’s very attractive and really look great and I know that my wife will like it too as knives are her fave stuff in our kitchen. :D

  20. Kitchen Boy says:

    Very rare design knife block. That stuff I think suitable to locate at my new kitchen :)

  21. nespresso Espresso Machines…

    [...]Voodoo knife block « Dana McCauley’s food blog[...]…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

