Lemony dill-dressed late winter salad

lemonydill

Over the last couple of weeks, salad greens have been coming and going more quickly at my house. Perhaps it’s fatigue with roasted and boiled wintertime veggies or just a craving for freshness. I just don’t know.

What I do know is that I’ve been combining frisee and mache lettuces, thinly sliced red onions and tomatoes with this fresh, sweet and tangy dressing and every bite has been divine. In fact, when I got home last night after two days of eating and indulging in  New York City, one of these salads was exactly what was on the menu!

Lemony Honey-Dill Dressing

3 tbsp lightly packed fresh dill fronds, chopped
2 tbsp white wine vinegar
1 tbsp minced red onion
1 tbsp lemon juice
1 tbsp whole, drained capers
2 tsp liquid honey
2 tsp finely grated lemon zest
1 tsp Dijon mustard
1/2 tsp each salt and pepper
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 tsp hot pepper sauce
1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil

Combine the dill, vinegar, onion, lemon juice, capers, honey, lemon zest, mustard, salt, pepper, garlic and hot pepper sauce in a bowl. Blend until well combined. Whisking, drizzle in the oil. Cover and refrigerate for up to 3 days. Whisk or shake well before using. Makes about 3/4 cup.

What about you? Do you fall into salad habits where one dressing and lettuce combo reigns supreme for a few weeks or do you toss up a new bowl of excitement every time you make a salad?

13 Responses to Lemony dill-dressed late winter salad

  1. Dana, this salad dressing looks great! I’ll try it tonight on my hubby and 3.5 yrs old son Jacob! Fridays are pizza and salad night. I’m always on the hunt for new and fabulous tasting dressings or vinaigrettes, esp one with a bite! My go-to dressing is very popular at my corporate classes: 1/4 cup cider vinegar, 1 tsp kosher salt, 1 tsp Dijon mustard, 1 tsp brown sugar and 1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil. Simple and tasty. I serve it on a salad of spring mix and then garnish with goat cheese, a few pear slices, toasted or caramelized pecans and a dollop of Dan T ‘s Raspberry Chipotle Sauce. Try it sometime and let me know what you think.

  2. Rosa says:

    What a wonderfully flavorful dressing! A reffined and refreshing salad! exactly the kind of dressing I love…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. I confess, I’m a slave to the pre-tossed mixed greens. I just love the mesclin mix, although we go for baby spinach now and again.

    The salad dressings? Now that’s a different story. I make my own so it’s always different — balsamic, classic Greek, raspberry, lemon and rosemary, cilantro and lime, apple cider and maple… It all depends on what’s in the cupboard and the accompanying dish.

  4. Sara says:

    This is such a pretty salad. I LOVE fresh dill, I think it’s an underutilized herb.

  5. Rebecca says:

    Mmmm, perfect timing. Our salads have been in a little bit of a rut, because I’ve been buying romaine in bulk to save money over the winter. Can’t wait until the garden starts to percolate! I’m ready for some variety.

  6. Diva says:

    Dana, I’ll be making this dressing tonight too. It sounds just perfect and I love that you’ve add a bit of hot pepper sauce for kicks. Nice! I’m making some grilled shrimp and veggies for dinner and this dressing will be the perfect addition to the salad rounding out the meal. Thanks!

    I confess that I’m completely non-creative about my dressing. I generally default to my standard vinaigrette because I can whip it up in seconds … but its not like it would require more time to change it up a bit. Just lazy, I suppose.

  7. Hélène says:

    Great vinaigrette. I usually use the same base: oil, any kind of vinegar, dijon mustard and maple syrup. Then I add what I have on hand. I love to add fresh herbs, salt & pepper. I try to make a salad a day.

  8. Cheryl says:

    My salads were always bo-ring until relatively recently. Now I make sure to add a variety of colors and textures because I want the salads to be pretty and interesting. In the winter I toss pomegranate seeds in with the greens more often than not. Attractive, juicy, and crunchy~

  9. danamccauley says:

    All I have eaten so far today is cake (occupational hazard!) and all this salad talk has me jonesing for greens!

    Diva – shrimp is great with this salad. I sometimes baste my grilled shrimp with this dressing, in fact.

  10. Kevin says:

    Fresh dill is one of my favorites and this is a nice way to enjoy it!

  11. [...] Revisit some of my other favourite salad dressings if you need more inspiration to eat a bowl of veggies: •    Curry Vinaigrette •    Creamy Sesame Dressing •    Miso Dressing •    Lemony Dill Dressing [...]

  12. [...] salad (made by me) that contains roasted beet, avocado, cucumber, tomatoes and mâchâ tossed with lemony dill dressing and accompanied by a glass of sauvignon [...]

  13. [...] drained shellfish, diced red pepper and a handful of chopped parsley in a bowl. • Drizzle with lemony-dill dressing; toss and let stand for at least 15 [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

