Duck sausage

ducksausage

Remember those mysterious duck sausages I told you about a few weeks ago? Well, they are ready at last and they taste super fine!

The prosciutto is still curing so we don’t know how it will taste but the duck sausage experiment proved out so well that Martin and his chef colleagues have made salami of various kinds and a slew of pork sausages. In fact, the whole enterprise grew so much bigger that we had to create a new storage area for curing these meats. Fortunately our house has two cold storage cellars! While it’s all fun on one level, our entire house also reeks like a deli – I guess my vegetarian friends won’t be dropping by much.

The process for curing the meats is quite fascinating and we’re all learning a lot. When I was a kid, my Baba occasionally made headcheese but that was about it. Later as a chef I made gravlax, fresh sausages and various meat pâtés but I never attempted to preserve meat for longer-term use. Truthfully, I was too afraid to try. I’m still not confident enough to go it alone and make my own sausage or salami, but I’m learning a lot watching Martin take the PH reading of the meats and regulating the humidity in the hanging room. (He still needs to discover how to control the rank odour of curing meat that is wafting through the house – I’m sure the entire world I meet each day thinks I have B.O. when really I just have Martin and his sausages!)

I’ve also been dipping into his reference books and learning good tips. So far, my two reccos for those with a curiosity for curing are:

Cooking by Hand by Paul Bertolli

Charcuterie by Michael Ruhlman and Brian Polcyn.

If you have any curing tips, references or stories, please share them!

9 Responses to Duck sausage

  1. truenorth67 says:

    Dana, this stuff is gold! I make some Greek sausage, a cured pork tenderloin (Jacques Pepin recipe) and Pastourma. I use my cellar (no disasters yet) and the fridge works well for curing too.

    Have hubby dedicate a 2nd fridge just for curing/aging.

  2. I have never made sausage and have no tips to offer. While my husband would salivate at the thought of homemade sausage, I am insanely jealous that you have TWO cold storage cellars.

    What have we got? Store bought salami and a musty basement with low-hanging duct work that will decapitate you if you’re not careful. We would both love to have a house that smelled like a deli — but for different reasons. He wants sausage, I want space. We will both live vicariously through you.

  3. Rosa says:

    Oh, yummy! These sausage look so good! I’ll have to try curing meat one of these days…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  4. Sara says:

    I’ve always wanted to learn to cure, but it seems so intimidating to me for some reason. Those sausages sound so good! Looking forward to seeing how the prosciutto turns out.

  5. danamccauley says:

    Hey Truenorht67: how do you get enough air circulation and humidity in the fridge? I think our fridge would dehydrate the sausage badly.

    Char: glad to be of help – fantasy life is still life, right?

    Rosa: good luck – it’s fun!

    Sara: I was just like you until recently – I’ll be sure to report on the Proscuitto when it’s ready.

  6. watcat says:

    Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

  7. Kitt says:

    Awesome. I love good sausage, but I’m afraid to try making it myself. My dad used to buy good sausage and then hang it in the cellar until it was rock-hard. I was so hard not to sneak down there and steal a slice or two.

  8. Ex Girlfiend says:

    After reading through the article, I feel that I really need more information on the topic. Could you suggest some more resources ?

  9. cheapcoupon says:

    It is the first time I saw Duck Sausage :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

