Not roasted garlic

roastedgarlicI would run away and join the circus but apparently their quota for doughy limbed, middle-aged ladies is full. If only I hadn’t invested in electrolysis I might have had a chance at the bearded lady job. Instead, I’ll have to live out the rest of the recession doing two things:
1. Waiting for the phone to ring
2. Cooking.

I took the picture above at Murray’s Cheese on Bleeker Street in New York City a few weeks ago. I loved its photogenic beauty and really felt compelled to buy some. But, truth be told, I’m really not such a fan of roasted garlic. In fact, I find that braising garlic is a far better way to develop a mellow flavour and yielding cloves that spread like softened butter. I learned this technique for cooking garlic from my husband Martin Kouprie almost 20 years ago and I have to say that it’s still the best way to “roast” garlic that I’ve found.

Martin’s “Roasted” Garlic

20 cloves peeled garlic
1 tbsp (15 mL) vegetable oil
1 cup (250 mL) water
¼ tsp (1 mL) each salt and pepper

Heat oil in skillet set over medium heat; add garlic and toss to coat. Cook, stirring and tossing often, for 5 to 7 minutes or until golden brown on both sides but not scorched.

Add water and bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer for 12 to 15 minutes or until water is evaporated and garlic is very tender; stir in salt and pepper.

Spread garlic cloves and juices onto plate and cool completely. Place in clean, dry container; seal tightly and refrigerate until needed.

15 Responses to Not roasted garlic

  1. You’re hilarious. I’m so glad you’ve got something constructive to do while you wait.

    I’m not big on roasted garlic either. Love the concept more than the final results. I’ll have to try your recipe and see if it changes my mind.

  2. Kathryn says:

    I am also part of the not-crazy-about-roasted-garlic-club, but I will try this. Thanks.

    Dana — how long will it keep in the refrigerator?

  3. truenorth67 says:

    I’m partial to the roasted garlic but either method is fine by me. I’ve also heard of Martin’s method described as garlic confit.

  4. Cheryl says:

    How can you not like roasted garlic? Do you hate kitties and rainbows, too? Bearded lady. Heh heh.

    By the way, why is that garlic the size of my head?

  5. dinnerwithjulie says:

    Awesome post! I agree with Cheryl – wow, those look like some mighty large heads. Bigger in fact than the real one on the guy standing behind them!

  6. danamccauley says:

    I think the size might be my fault as a poor photographer. They were large but not nuclear plant large.

    And, I don’t hate rainbow; but truthfully, I’m not so fond of kitties. They make my eyes swell up like Rene Zellewger’s. What I don’t love about roasted garlic is how it lingers. Seriously, I can smell it on someone for days later.

  7. Shari says:

    I’ll have to give this a try! Thanks for the tip.

  8. Barb says:

    This recipe looks like a good one to try for me. I like the fact that is doesn’t take an hour.

  9. Amy says:

    Kathryn had a good question…Is it better off in the fridge or out in the open? Garlic that is…

  10. CakeSpy says:

    I like roasted garlic…but I love all garlic, so I’m sure I’d like this version too! :-)

  11. danamccauley says:

    When garlic is an ingredient always keep it in a cool, dark, airy place. Once it’s cooked, cover it tightly and keep in the refrigerator. I’d only keep it a couple of days (three tops) once it’s cooked.

    Sorry I missed your question earlier Kathryn and thanks for the nudge Amy!

  12. Diva says:

    Thanks so much for that much needed chuckle, Dana! I loved this post and am anxious to try Martin’s technique for braising the garlic. I quite like it roasted, but this makes for a nice alternative when I don’t want to turn on the oven.

  13. readyto says:

    This is a great idea! I’ve never thought about braising garlic before.

  14. megan says:

    This is a great way to do garlic. When the dog days of summer get here, I dont want to heat the oven but still want roasted garlic. Thanks for the technique!

  15. [...] up the grill just to roast a head of garlic is wasteful. She’s got a brilliant method for pan-braised garlic that she swears is easier on energy consumption and better tasting to boot. I’m going to [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

