Hydrotherapy: stylish recycling

bistrowatercarafesLike many people, I used to buy bottled water frequently. My main motivation was convenience although I have to admit that I wasn’t smart enough not to buy into the notion that imported water was better than the stuff out of my tap. (Yes, I was a victim of marketing, it’s true!). As my awareness of the carbon footprint I was enlarging by trucking water around the globe grew, I reevaluated my habits.

Now I use my Sigg water bottle when I’m on the go. And at home, when I want to take water to the table to share, I fill up these old Tavel wine bottles. The look is fun and the bottles are easier to pour from than a heavy pitcher.

Besides making these small changes in your own behaviour that will help the planet, you can help the almost 890 million earthlings who still must use unsafe drinking water sources. It’s as easy as making a small donation to the TAP Project which collects funds for UNICEF’s water, sanitation, and hygiene programs in developing countries.

I know we are knee deep in a sea of recessionary tears, but if we all skip buying bottled water at lunch time or the gym a couple of times this week and donate that money instead, we can make a significant impact.

Have your drinking water habits changed in the last two years? If so, how?

19 Responses to Hydrotherapy: stylish recycling

  1. Beth says:

    i used to buy only bottled water but now I have a filtration system on my kitchen tap and I only buy bottles for when I’m on the road.

  2. Sarah says:

    I’ve been “living dangerously” for years and drinking tap water at home. I keep it cold in the fridge – all the chlorine evaporates that way and it’s just great tasting water: Toronto water is delicious. I took the taste test at the Science Centre a few years ago and that convinced me. I usually bring my own tap water filled bottle of h20 with me when I go out, but if I forget, I will buy bottled water from a machine or a cafe vs buying pop. I would hate to not have that choice, so the complete ban on bottled water does worry me a bit. Why should pop companies be allowed to sell water with sugar in it, but not just plain water?

  3. Diva says:

    Ooh, the Tavel bottle looks so pretty. What a great idea! I’ve definitely curtailed my bottle water usage over the last two years. I now also cart my Sigg bottle to work, rather than buying a bottle of Poland Spring. And, when dining out, I no longer opt for any kind of imported or bottle water. I’ve noticed that some of my local restaurants have begun to include information on the TAP Project with the check – as well as space to make a donation there and then. I think its a great idea. And this is a great post!

  4. doclaura says:

    At the clinic (www.pivotsmo.com) we provide patients with spring water in paper cups. We have not figured out how to reduce the paper utilization but for our staff we purchased stainless steel water bottles- we put our logo on them and so now when we are all out and about not only do we help the planet we also have an opportunity to tell others how to stay fit and recover from injuries.
    Great to see local restaurants supporting the TAP Project!

  5. adrian says:

    I’ve gone Brita-filtered, refrigerated Toronto tap-water but because I miss Perrier, I’ve gone one step further and got a soda stream. Nice, soft carbonation and the cost is just over a dollar a litre but please don’t tell me that those little CO2 canisters are bad for the environment.

  6. danamccauley says:

    Thanks for all your comments – glad to see people are making good choices!

    Adrian, one of my friends is looking for one of those soda stream jobbies. Where did you get yours and what kind is it?

  7. cheryl says:

    Your picture made me smile. I was in Portland two weeks ago and ate at a funky restaurant called Clyde Common. As soon as we sat down the waiter brought over a bottle just like the one in your picture & left it on our table. It was such a light bulb moment… why on earth don’t all restaurants do this as a matter of course? The water was either tap or restaurant-filtered (I’m not sure) and we could help ourselves whenever we drained our glasses.

    I went home and immediately bought a pretty French glass bottle ($10). It’s functional, attractive, environmentally sensitive, and I’m drinking a whole lot more water now, too.

  8. Barb says:

    I brought filtered water back and forth with me from home in my plastic bottle for ages, weeks, years. Then “they” told us the plastics were bad to reuse. I went for a short time not having it with me when I wanted it and missed it terribly! I have bought a couple of stainless steel bottles for gifts but have yet to buy one for myself so just recently have begun using plastic again just until I get myself a ss bottle. Gotta have my water….

  9. adrian says:

    The soda stream was a birthday present but I know you can get them in hardware stores (Canadian Tire, The Bay, here in Canada) as well as Williams Sonoma. Mine is by Whip-it! (srsly..) and it’s excellent. I keep it in the door of the fridge, beside my Brita. (I originally looked for a vintage soda siphon but any that I found had a worn-out cartridge gasket, unfortunately.)

  10. Rosa says:

    A great way to recycle bottles! Pretty and stylish!

    cheers,

    Rosa

  11. Hélène says:

    I’ve been carrying my water for years. I don’t like to spend money buying bottle water. I love those travel wine bottles.

  12. I wonder if this trend will ever catch on in Italy. Everyone drinks bottled water, all the time. It’s also so cheap that there isn’t much incentive to switch, then again I do worry about filtration in pipes that were put in about the same time as the Roman aquaduct system…

  13. danamccauley says:

    Judith, maybe you should start a business in Italy installing filtration sysetms on people’s home tapes? You could do it in your copious amounts of spare time. ; )

  14. adrian says:

    Interesting comment about Italy. I had heard that hardly anyone drinks bottled water in Rome, because of the numerous drinking fountains, and the quality of the water. Not true?

  15. I have a Kleen Kanteen for toting water. I rarely buy bottled water and drink Britta filtered municipal water to remove the chlorine and excess of lime. (We have extremely hard water here and a higher than average occurrence of kidney stones because of it.)

    Our city has decided to stop selling bottled water at its city owned buildings. So, the performing arts centre now has bottled water stations. This is a great move and I hope it will influence others to stop buying bottled water.

    Even though I’ve managed to get my husband to stop buying bottled still water, he still buys carbonated water because he likes the fizz. This drive me nuts because of the waste. I’ve been looking for a soda siphon and see that Adrian got one at Canadian Tire. Clearly, I haven’t looked hard enough.

  16. danamccauley says:

    Love that your city has bottled water refill stations! I’m going to write to my town councillor (she is so tired of me!) and tell her we need this service, too.

  17. Heather says:

    I love my unfiltered, regular, plain old tap water! I hate the taste that Brita’s an other type filters give the water. In a place we used to rent, the drinking water was hooked up to the water softener, so we went through lots of bottled water while there. We also used to grab some bottled water whenever we were out and about, but we now just take our refillable bottles of water with us. I would love to see bottling stations here, as I do not like fountains! I had mono, and am convinced that I got it from a water fountain somewhere!

  18. Acoustic panels are also parking spaces closer to the
    United Artists Riverview Stadium 17 are $8.50 for adults and $7.
    50 for Senior and children. This result says: Hollingshead’s drive-in opened on Tuesday
    June 6, 1933 on Crescent Boulevard, Camden, New Jersey. If the name but it does not matter.

    The light from the zone as well in emphasizing certain elements that would conform better situated on the journey.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

