Lentils for lunch

lentils1

While I’m really not liking this new marketing term “uber cocooning” (why not just call people shut-ins or hermits?) I worry I could be mistaken for one. You see, I do love a well-stocked pantry. It just makes life so much easier to be able to make a great recipe literally right out of the cupboard.

Case in point: this lentil salad that I made recently for my Sunday lunch. The genesis for this bowl of yummy stuff was a humble can of lentils that I drained, rinsed and put in a bowl. Subsequent scavenging led to the discovery of green pumpkin seeds, a carrot, a quarter of a red pepper, a hunk of a forgotten pomegranate, some coriander and a shallot. A little chopping and a very few minutes later, my salad was born as this concoction dressed with a curry flavoured dressing.

Delish on a dime and in no time!

What’s your favourite out-of-the-cupboard lunch?

By the way, here’s how I made the Curry Vinaigrette:

1 tsp (5 mL) curry paste
1/2 tsp (2 mL) each honey and minced fresh ginger
1 tbsp (15 mL) white wine vinegar
1/4 tsp (1 mL) minced fresh garlic
3 tbsp (45 mL) canola or extra virgin olive oil
salt and pepper

Blend the curry paste, honey, ginger and vinegar together until smooth. Stir in the garlic and while whisking, drizzle in the oil. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

15 Responses to Lentils for lunch

  1. Rosa says:

    A gorgeous salad! Very tasty and healthy! I love that vinaigrette… I always add a pinch of curry in my salad sauces.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Natashya says:

    I love lentils – such bang for your buck. I am definitely a uber-cocooner (never heard that before) and have enough in my pantry to last for many years.

  3. Uber anything should be banned. Don’t get me started on overused words.

    My pantry is too small to be overstocked and I have no out-of-the-cupboard lunch options. I’m a leftover girl. Lunch is last night’s dinner. Failing that? Yogurt, berries and granola.

    Love your curry vinaigrette idea. I can see this becoming a summertime fave. Which curry paste do you use?

  4. danamccauley says:

    Char, I use Pataks or Sharwoods. Coincidentally, I bought just last week two new ones I hadn’t seen before. One is from an Ontario company. I have yet to try either of them but the textures look much looser than the two I’m used to using.

  5. Barb says:

    Except for produce and dairy products I could go for weeks without shopping, too. I keep thinking I should I should get my cupboards down to a less crowded state and then something I use comes on sale and I feel I should stock up a bit on it. After all, it is something I use regualrly, right?! You see my predicament. My go to lunch is most often leftovers also.

  6. Dana, love this! I’ve done similar squirreling/concocting. Bulgur or cous cous with chopped arugula, toasted nuts, citrus segments, a sprinkle of Parmigiano and a drizzle of olive oil or simple vinaigrette. Fast, fresh, filling.

  7. Cheryl A says:

    I’ve just cleaned out my pantry of unused items, but there is still a lot on there. This salad looks similar to our dinner the other night – meat picked off the bones from a leftover roast chicken, carrots, peppers, onions, and garlic, and mixed with Puy lentils and barley that I cooked together on the stove. Just olive oil and balsamic to dress.
    Today’s lunch in hummous that I made from the pantry too.

  8. Diva says:

    Yum, just yum. I can envision a host of possibilities for that curry vinaigrette. Thanks!

    I’m afraid I’m not too creative come lunch, usually salad and or yogurt for me. But dinner, that’s another story. Like you, I believe in a well stocked pantry and take great pleasure in preparing what I call “no-shop” meals. Made an amazing off the cuff semi-bolognese sauce the other night with a mix of stuff from the pantry and freezer. Very satisfying.

  9. cheryl says:

    YUM. That’s a beauty of a salad, Dana. I’m a huge lentil fan, and the pomegranate seeds were an inspired addition. I have a sad looking pomegranate in the fridge right now (probably 2 months old). I guess I should cut into it and make sure there’s nothing living inside.

    My quick pantry meals usually include tuna, beans, and pasta, often mixed together in the same dish.

  10. danamccauley says:

    Glad to see so much cupboard love!

  11. [...] Lentils for lunch « Dana McCauley’s food blog [...]

  12. Kevin says:

    I like to make these kinds of quick throw together salads with canned beans. I will have to try the canned lentil version as well.

  13. [...] my other favourite salad dressings if you need more inspiration to eat a bowl of veggies: •    Curry Vinaigrette •    Creamy Sesame Dressing •    Miso Dressing •    Lemony Dill [...]

  14. Ballkleid says:

    Ballkleid…

    [...]Lentils for lunch « Dana McCauley’s food blog[...]…

  15. Lyme disease treatment…

    [...]Lentils for lunch « Dana McCauley’s food blog[...]…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

