My new salad dressing: Spicy Korean

May 14, 2009

SaladDressingSpicyKorean

I’m such a fickle cow. I’ve replaced my favourite salad dressing yet again. These days it’s all about spice! If you can’t stand the heat, this salad, based on one I had at Sariwon Korean restaurant in Thornhill, Ont., is definitely not for you:

Spicy Korean Dressing
1 tbsp (15 mL)    rice vinegar
11/2 tsp (7 mL)  sambal olek or Asian chili paste
1 tsp (5 mL)        soy sauce
1/2 tsp (2 mL)   granulated sugar
1 clove                 minced garlic
1/2 tsp (2 mL)   salt
1 tsp (5 mL)        toasted sesame oil
3 tbsp (45 mL)   vegetable oil

Whisk vinegar, sambal olek and soy sauce together. Stir in sugar, garlic and salt. Whisking constantly, drizzle in sesame and vegetable oils.

Makes about 1/3 cup (75 mL)

Revisit some of my other favourite salad dressings if you need more inspiration to eat a bowl of veggies:
•    Curry Vinaigrette
•    Creamy Sesame Dressing
•    Miso Dressing
•    Lemony Dill Dressing

Or, leave your favourite dressing ideas in the comments below. I’m sure to need a new favourite dressing very soon!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers