Hot weather cooking: easy shellfish salad

shellfish salad

It’s so awful, but for me, good food is sometimes a burden. For instance, the other day we needed clams and mussels in a bowl for a photo shoot. They were to serve no other purpose than to be themselves for 5 minutes.

At the end of the day they were up for grabs on our food trolley (we basically do a little grocery shop on our way to our cars each day, taking the food that was made between 9 and 5 home for ourselves or others). No one, including me, wanted the seafood. I’d eaten enough during the day and really, I just couldn’t see myself cooking them up into a chowder. But I felt guilty about wasting these creatures for the sake of a 5-minute TV segment so I took them home, steamed them and shucked the meats from the shells and made this little salad. Then, I packed it into a plastic container and put it in the fridge.

Sabrina and I ate it the next day for lunch and you know what? My efforts were well worth the pay off. And, given how hot it is here in Ontario right now. I can see myself making this salad again late one evening so that I have a cold, yummy, protein dish on reserve for dinner.

Here’s how to make one yourself:

Steam a combination of clams and mussels in a large pot of salted water.
Drain cooked shellfish in a colander and refresh under cold running water
Remove meats from opened shells and discard any unopened shellfish.
Pat the shucked shellfish dry on paper towel.
Combine drained shellfish, diced red pepper and a handful of chopped parsley in a bowl.
Drizzle with lemony-dill dressing; toss and let stand for at least 15 minutes.

What are your hot weather entree favorites?

11 Responses to Hot weather cooking: easy shellfish salad

  1. sd says:

    Now this looks absolutely delicious, i gotta try this.

  2. danamccauley says:

    Please do – and make it your own. It’s an idea more than a recipe.

  3. Sabrina says:

    It was delicious!

  4. Barb says:

    I have a tortellini salad that I go to often. I usually add a can of tuna or salmon and whatever veggies I have and serve it well chilled with a fresh lemony herb dressing. I also like my friend’s recipe that she calls Grape Salad. Lots of seedless grapes and cubed turkey in shell pasta with a ranch style dressing. It may have mandarine oranges in it too if I’m not mistaken.

  5. Natashya says:

    A wonderful hot-weather meal! I would just need a baguette and a bottle of chilled white. ;-)

  6. My husband lives on cottage cheese and fruit salad in the summer. Come to think of it, he lives on that most days – it’s his after dinner dinner.

    I like having pasta/bean salads hanging around for days when I don’t want to cook. A chickpea taboulleh, orzo with feta and dill, or maybe some panzanella.

  7. marshall says:

    Hi,

    We have just added your latest post “Hot weather cooking: easy shellfish salad” to our Food Directory . You can check the inclusion of the post here . We are delighted to invite you to submit all your future posts to the directory for getting a huge base of visitors to your website and gaining a valuable backlink to your site.

    Warm Regards

    foodnrecipes.info Team

    http://www.foodnrecipes.info

  8. If it’s hot and humid, I lose my appetite. To keep me going in this weather, I drink my meals — smoothies, lassis or iced coffee.

    If it’s just warm, I love salads and chicken kebabs / souvlaki. I could live on cucumber salad made with feta and lime dressing.

  9. danamccauley says:

    Feta and lime dressing? Do you have a recipe for that?

  10. cheryl says:

    This is too eerie. I’m on Martha’s Vineyard right now and we’re going on Tuesday to get a shellfish permit so we can rake for clams and mussels! As my husband runs screaming in the other direction from any fish with shells, I rarely cook the stuff at home and so don’t have a lot of good ideas. Now, thanks to you, I have a great one.

  11. danamccauley says:

    Eerie stuff! Hope you enjoy the salad. Of course, chowder is always a wonderful way to cook up a batch of clams, too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

