Berry nice

Berries

Mmm berries! While the season was off to a slow start, the recently warmer temperatures have brought us some very fine strawberries here in Ontario.

Because my birthday is in early July, I grew up having strawberry shortcake as my birthday cake. Every. Single. Year. Don’t get me wrong, it was always delicious and made with real whipping cream, Ontario berries that my mom usually picked herself and a homemade angel food cake as the base. But, as the saying goes, familiarity bred contempt.

As a result, as an adult, I hardly ever make strawberry shortcake. Instead I usually opt for making fruit salads or custard-based desserts studded with berries and cradled in puff pastry.

My favourite berry by far is the raspberry followed by wild blueberries and then strawberries. To be honest, I’ve never found a blackberry that I’d cross the road for and cape gooseberries (the yellow orbs pictured above) are fun but not a fruit I’d miss if it suddenly became extinct.

What about you? Do you have a favourite berry?

16 Responses to Berry nice

  1. vicky sanderson says:

    I’m with you on the blackberries. Boring. But aren’t you finding the Ont. strawberries a bit watery this year? I’m still buying them, though, coz I think buying berries from California in July is ridunkulus…
    I’m making rhubarb/strawberry pie this aft, because I have HUge rhubarb harvest….

  2. danamccauley says:

    Totally with you Vicky. In fact, I made strawberry shortcake Friday night when we had friends who live in Mexico City over for dinner and they were very, very non-strawberry flavoured. I’m hoping the ones out this week will be better after all that sunshine last week.

  3. Barb says:

    I have to agree that raspberries are the best. I have a more open mind than you two however, and give blackberries their due in the antioxident category! :)

  4. I adore raspberries, strawberries and wild blueberries. Blackberries have little taste and the one time I bought huckleberries they proved to be a great disappointment. I believe elderberries are just as banal.

    Red currants, however, are amazing for jam. Unfortunately, they’re also hard to find.

    The strawberries this season have been a disappointment. Fingers crossed we’ll have some decent ones as things warm up.

  5. Rosa says:

    So pretty! I’m a big fan of berries! I love them all the same….

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  6. vicky sanderson says:

    Try sticking a couple of red currant bushes in a corner of your garden. You’ll never be without them…..SO easy to grow….

  7. Amy Snider says:

    Raspberries are my favourite – as a child, my grandmother had a black raspberry bush on her farm and those were a rare treat to pick when I used to visit. I haven’t seen black raspberries in a long time…. they make really delicious jam. Any body seen them at a farmer’s market?

  8. Diva says:

    Hey, I’m a July baby too! :)

    As for the berries, I don’t think I’ve ever met one I didn’t like. I’m particularly fond of blueberries and blackberries, and who doesn’t love a strawberry. We’re coming to the end of our local season, but I had some outstanding native strawberries in Connecticut this weekend. They were stunningly sweet.

  9. Heather says:

    I LOVE BERRIES! Raspberries top my list, followed by Blackberries (we tend to get wonderful ones at Costco all winter, and now they’re ick), then Strawberries and Blueberries…and can’t forget Saskatoons…I went saskatoon picking last year and oh they were wonderful! Almost forgot…I love Chokecherries too (but do they count?)…oooh and I think I have to reorder my list…right after raspberries are Cactus Berries…so hard to find…but so good!

    I’ll gladly take almost any berry over other fruit any day, actually, I don’t like most fruits, but I LOVE BERRIES! :)

  10. It’s all about the strawberry here. And the raspberries that come straight from the bush, warm and full on sunshine. The BC strawberries just arrived, local soon…

  11. Dave says:

    Wow! Can’t believe there are some folks who don’t like blackberries and the various hybrids of them, such as boysenberries and ollalieberries. But maybe you have to get them wild or at least fresh. Or maybe the commercial varieties are like supermarket tomatoes – pretty, but lacking flavor. I did try some blackberries last year that were a thornless variety, and they had less taste than I expected, although the berries were huge and cosmetically beautiful.

    The ollalieberry season hits central California in early summer. Wild blackberries are just finishing up now. Both are good, with the blackberries having a slightly more complex taste.

  12. Karima Dikes says:

    Hi. Very solid information on Maqui Berry. I discovered your good blog while exploring google. For the preceding few days I’ve been attempting to find more. Particularly anything to do with the dieting talk. I’ve seen it all and my sister keeps promoting her new weight loss craze on me. So I am happy I discovered you. Take care!

  13. Hexal says:

    Hexal…

    […]Berry nice « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

