Let’s celebrate!

TracyCupcakeTomorrow is my birthday and for my present, I’d like to hear about your favourite birthday food treat. Do you love chocolate cake or prefer a perfect peach pie? Or, would you rather skip desserts and toast your day with an excellent bottle of champagne or an aged Bordeaux?

As a summer birthday girl, I’ve celebrated many years with light, fluffy cakes filled with whipped cream and berries. Although there are usually still local strawberries around on July 7th, my very fave is a classic Black Forest Cake. I even have a dream to someday sample one just like Heston Blumenthal featured on his BBC television show.

Cupcakes are another favourite of mine and selecting those little yummies for my birthday treat has a benefit for those around me. You see, I find that  eating one cupcake seems to lead to eating another. So, if I have a dozen on hand, my mouth will be full all day. And, since a full mouth is a quiet mouth that can’t complain about wrinkles, spare tires and other disappointments that come with advancing age,  me gorging on cupcakes makes everyone happy!

Now it’s your turn. Tell me what food you enjoy on your birthday.

BTW, photo credit once again goes to the lovely and talented Tracy Cox.

28 Responses to Let’s celebrate!

  1. Jeanne says:

    Have a wonderful Birthday tomorrow! Enjoy your cupcakes!

  2. Rosa says:

    My favorite birthday treat is a layer cake with lots of frosting…

    What pretty cupcakes!

    Happy Birthday for tomorrow!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. I dont’ really have a fave treat – but I know tons about cupcakes. I started a cupcake joint – http://www.cupcake-gallery.com!

    And happy birthday for tomorrow! I hope it’s a good one.

  4. Barb says:

    Happy Happy Day! (My nephew will be 3 tomorrow) I am a September birthday girl and, while I wouldn’t turn my nose up at any special treat, I have made some version of a carrot cake many times to use up some of the garden bounty. I am not stuck in a rut in that area however, and pineapple angelfood with berries came up last year. See how open minded I am?

  5. Amy says:

    happy birthday!!

    As much as I LOVE cupcakes…I’m a die hard fan of tiramisu….That or I could totally go retro and have root beer floats….

  6. danamccauley says:

    Root beer floats – love it! Also love carrot cake. Yum! Seriously, I could have a birthday 365 days a year.

    Darius, I’m dashing off to see you cupcake gallery. Exciting!

  7. CakeSpy says:

    Banana cream pie AND birthday cake. Then, more birthday cake for breakfast the next morning.

  8. Sheryl Kirby says:

    Fried chicken. Although who needs an excuse for fried chicken, right?

    My birthday is the same day as Colonel Sanders’. When I was a kid, the local KFC (then just plain old Kentucky Fried Chicken) always used to do this amazing deal on the Colonel’s birthday. But – my parents would never take me for chicken because the lines were always huge and they didn’t want to wait for 2 hours. I’d get a stupid Dairy Queen ice cream cake instead.

    So now that I’m grown up, my birthdays regularly include fried chicken. Usually from Harlem, because I like theirs the best.

  9. Diva says:

    Wait a minute … can’t I have both cake and champagne?! At my advanced age, I need to grab all the gusto I can! ;)

    Historically, my birthday treat of choice has been a chocolate layer cake with chocolate frosting. Its the cake I always asked my mother to bake, the cake she always made for me. My favorite was the one she turned into a cat’s face when I was 8 or 9. So cute!

    My birthday is a week from tomorrow and I might just decide to go ahead and bake one for myself. If we were anywhere near each other, I’d invite you out for a drink to toast our July birthdays! Instead, I’ll come back tomorrow and wish you a wonderful, happy birthday, Dana!

  10. Terry says:

    Happy early Birthday, Dana. My mom used to make this amazing peanut butter cake with peanut butter icing for my birthday — super rich and super delish. (Only recently did I find out that this mystery was white cake with peanut butter added, and a usual icing recipe wtih peanut butter added. Who knew?)

  11. Laura la Uruguaya says:

    What a delightful question for a November baby! Growing up, I was always jealous of my friends who had summer birthdays…

    I’d love a barbecue lunch – spicy chorizo topped with chimichurri, cold pasta salad and a mojito. Followed by lemon meringue pie and alfajores.

    If you aren’t lucky enough to have a grandmother who can make the latter, I just tried a Pusateri’s alfajor a few weeks ago – delicious!

    Happy Birthday, Dana :)

  12. Happy birthday, Dana!!

    I’m all about the dessert. I’m not fussy on cupcakes because I like tortes. Chocolate cake, drizzled with either orange or raspberry liqueur, filled with whipped cream, chocolate shards and the corresponding fruit. Layer it up!!

  13. Every year I fantasize that I will get a birthday cake made for me. I would take that over any present. As an adult, heck as a teenager, that’s happened only about twice. Either I make my own or go without. That means I go without, I simply refuse to make my own cake. Too sad.
    Hubby did make me wacky cake a few years back… With a plain buttercream. And it was perfect!

  14. I hope you have a very happy birthday Dana!

    My birthday is on Sunday, and I’m hoping hubby (remembers!) will take me out for sushi. Nothing better than sushi, followed by green tea ice cream :)

  15. danamccauley says:

    Okay, Tiffany and Cheryl A, send me your husband’s cell phone numbers and I’ll text them with reminders and hints about your birthdays!

  16. Amanda Laird says:

    I’m with you, Dana, I like a cupcake on my birthday. Fad or no fad, they are little packages of perfection.

  17. Andrea says:

    Too bad tomorrow’s not National Cupcake Day or National Cake Day. It’s National Strawberry Sundae Day.

    …And I forgot to do that post today. Time for it.

  18. Natashya says:

    My favourite birthday treat would be a huge fresh baked peach or apple pie with the little raw sugar crystals on top and a huge scoop of top quality vanilla bean ice cream.
    Happy Birthday!

  19. danamccauley says:

    You guys have the best taste! I could easily imagine myself being happy eating all of your favs!

  20. cherie says:

    Happy Birthday, Dana!

  21. Srivalli says:

    Happy birthday Dana, those cupcakes look very tempting…my birthday treat would also be a black forest cake!..of course an eggless one!..:)

  22. Pat says:

    Happy Birthday, Dana! My favorite birthday treat is one few others seem to enjoy which is really unfortunate — durian cream cake. I remember the last time my mom got it for me when I was still living in Singapore and all I can say is I was eating durian cake for a week! Not that I minded …

  23. For years now I feared that I was the only person left on the planet who still likes black forest cake so I’m thrilled to have found a fellow admirer! Happy belated birthday.

    • danamccauley says:

      Sweet Kitchen, we should split a blackforest cake (a small one, of course) sometime. When they are made well, they are fantastic! Grocery store bakeries have ruined them for so many people.

  24. Morgan says:

    That cupcake looks DIVINE right now! Since I’ve been pregnant I have had an obsession with them. I like the mini ones you can get from Loblaws.

    As for my favorite birthday treat (it’s in October) I enjoy my mom’s hashbrown casserole. ALWAYS yummy! And a glass of Naked Grape Sauvignon Blanc!

  25. Morgan says:

    I’m sorry, I also forgot to wish you a Happy Belated Birthday!!!

  26. danamccauley says:

    Morgan you are as sweet as a cupcake! Enjoy them and good luck with your baby makin’.

  27. cheryl says:

    Forgive me for missing this post a few days ago… I wish you a very happy (and belated!) birthday!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

