Easiest appetizer ever

watermelonfetaappetizer

I admit it. I’m hooked again. This time it isn’t a tangy Asian-inspired slaw or a wanton lasagna that I’m enticed to make over and over. No, my new passion is so very, very simple that it’s almost not a recipe at all. And, it’s that very fact that makes me love it so! I’ve made this new favourite twice in the last week — that’s how easy and how delicious this concoction is!

I’m talking about the easiest. Summertime. Appetizer. Ever. Specifically, a watermelon and feta cheese plate.

All you need to do is cube equal amounts of watermelon and real Greek (i.e. sheep’s milk) feta. Arrange them on a plate and drizzle the cheese with some great extra virgin olive oil and then sprinkle over lots of cracked black pepper. That’s it. That’s all.

Feeling fancy? Cut the melon into wedges and crumble the cheese over top and continue with the oil and pepper as directed. See, even the fancy version is easy.

Do you have a super easy appetizer that makes you look and feel like a gourmet rockstar?

14 Responses to Easiest appetizer ever

  1. Rosa says:

    Easy, but so delicious!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Barb says:

    My friend raves about this, too. I’ve gotta try it! Prosciutto wrapped melon is easy and good as is a block of cream cheese with mango salsa poured over top.

  3. Amy Snider says:

    Yum – I am going to do this for sure!

  4. I love that combo with a bit of fresh mint sprinkled on top too.

    Sadly, my often go-to appie in the summer is my dad’s salsa, some guacamole and nacho chips. Lately I’ve been making blue cheese dip too, the girls love it as picnic fare.

  5. I love these simple summertime combos. When the produce is so good, why get fancy?

    My favorite? It’s sooo overdone, but sliced heirloom tomatoes drizzled with oil and balsamic vinegar and sprinkled with fresh Parmesan and either basil or coriander. Okay, and some salt and pepper.

    Another is sliced English cucumber tossed with lime juice, oil, fresh lemon thyme and feta.

    There’s something unbeatable about cheese, herbs and fruit. (Tomatoes and cucumbers are technically a fruit.)

  6. Sharon Haslam says:

    My ‘trademark’ summer appetizer consists of thinly sliced fennoccio or fennel with thickly sliced strawberries on top sprinkled with balsamic vinegar and fresh cracked black pepper and the topper is freshly cut curls of parmigiano reggiano (use a vegetable peeler). It’s unusual, pretty and oh so tasty!

  7. danamccauley says:

    I didn’t know cucumber was a fruit as well!
    All these ideas are yummy and fresh sounding.

  8. cheryl says:

    I have to throw a baby shower for a friend carrying twins and I’m taking notes on all these ideas. We even get golden watermelon here, so I could see adding another color block to your platter, Dana, as well. So many good ideas. (Wheels turning…)

  9. Geek alert: Seeds on the inside = fruit.

    I need to get a life.

  10. Natashya says:

    That does look tasty!

  11. Barb says:

    Yay Charmain! Don’t leave us – we need you.

  12. *swoon*
    I’ve done watermelon, feta and mint salads but I really like the idea of the above format.

  13. Hélène says:

    I love the idea, I’ve never made an appetizer with watermelon but it looks delicious.

  14. danamccauley says:

    It that kind of knowledge makes you a geek Char, then I’m a super geek!

    I love the colour of golden watermelon – do it! And, then post about the shower for us on your blog Cheryl!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

