Green bean dress-ups

TracyGreenBeansUsually by mid July my garden is bulging with green beans. This year, due to our sucky Ontario weather, I’ve had to buy green beans for most of July. Now, at last, I have bush as well as French green beans on the vines in abundance.

While I love to eat green beans that have been simply boiled and tossed with butter, salt and pepper, there are a lot of beans in this garden that are going to be ready pretty much all at once. I have a feeling I need to be ready with some alternate ways to serve them. Otherwise, Oliver may take me hostage and demand another vegetable as ransom. Well, no. That’s not truly likely but regardless, I think we’ll enjoy our crop more if I mix it up a bit with a few simple dress-ups:

Gremolata: Toss hot green beans with enough extra virgin olive oil to coat lightly. Add finely chopped parsley and grated lemon zest, a dab of minced garlic and salt and pepper to taste.

Lemon Pecorino: Toss hot or cool green beans with a little grated lemon zest, lemon juice, salt and coarsely cracked black pepper. Stir in a little minced garlic. Drizzle with extra virgin olive oil and add a handful of finely diced pecorino or asiago cheese. Toss before serving.

Tonnato: Purée some canned tuna with equal parts mayonnaise and olive oil to make a soft paste. Add an anchovy fillet and a tablespoon of capers. Purée, adding lemon juice and pepper to taste. Toss with green beans or spoon over beans and serve on a platter.

Soy ginger: whisk equal parts soy sauce and sesame oil until well combined. Stir in a little minced ginger. Toss with hot green beans. Season with lime juice, salt and pepper to taste. Serve sprinkled with sesame seeds if you like.

Do you have any yummy ways you like to serve green beans that you’d like to share?

Photo credit: Tracy Cox

9 Responses to Green bean dress-ups

  1. Green beans are a staple in our house, too. I love your quick jazz-it-up solutions.

    Our absolute favourite way to enjoy green beans involves basil, roasted walnuts and roasted walnut oil. Easy-peasy and a bit like pesto without the garlic breath. In fact, it was my first blog post ever.

    http://christie-corner.blogspot.com/2006/05/beans-uncommonly-good-common-ground.html

  2. Barb says:

    I have been waiting for green beans to show up at the market, too. I got there late on Saturday and they were all gone! One of the Land O Lakes cookbooks has a recipe combining green beans with sliced mushrooms and tossing them in a grainy mustard sauce that actually tastes pretty good; better than it sounds. I would have to look it up to refresh my memory but I think it has lemon in it too.

  3. Sharon Haslam says:

    I don’t know if this is dressed-up or dressed-down for green beans but I grew up eating “stewed sausages and string beans”. Any kind of sausage but only ever green beans and lots of them. My mom cooked this for long time in a tomato based sauce with Italian herbs and it was certainly more like stew when done. I prefer to add the beans near the end so they are still bright green and not at all soft. To me the combination of the sausages, green beans and tomato sauce is perfection.

  4. Sabrina says:

    Growing up my mom always made a marinated potato and green bean salad. The dressing was very simple; olive oil, white wine vinegar, oregano, salt and pepper. I never liked it much as a kid but I find myself craving it after this blog post. I think I’ll be calling in a request to my mom for our next get together!

  5. Kristina says:

    I am addicted to roasted green beans. I could honestly eat them instead of potato chips.

    http://tnlocavore.typepad.com/tennessee_locavore/2009/06/roasting-everything-in-sight.html

  6. dinnerwithjulie says:

    I’m a huge fan of marinated bean salad – blanched green beans with chick peas, kidney beans and a sweet marinade with celery seed – from the Uncommon Cookbook from the Art Gallery of Western Ontario!

  7. Amy Snider says:

    Yum – I also like to roast grape tomatoes and toss with green beans, olive oil and a dash of balsamic vinegar…. I stole this idea from the TK where we did something similar.

  8. Donna says:

    Kind of cheating but…

    Panko, garlic, butter and Parmesan browned in a pan and then pored over the top of steamed beans.

    The panko has a much better taste than bread crumbs and the combo is pretty much comfort food…

  9. simple syrup recipe cocktails…

    [...]Green bean dress-ups « Dana McCauley’s food blog[...]…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

