Topline Trends Tuesday: Coffee talk

iStock_000003030567SmallWhile retail experts expected grocery store coffee sales to grow 2.4% in 2008, the changes in the economy led many consumers to choose a homemade cup of java over a $4 latte. As a result, sales grew by 6% and are predicted to stay as strong as a Starbucks espresso.

In other coffee related news, the makers of Dippin’ Dots ice cream pellets are applying their super cold technology to coffee concentrate so that soon homecooks will have another, hopefully better, instant coffee option.

And, for those who still splurge on coffee shop coffee, a new website and iPhone application from Dunkin’ Donuts now makes placing large orders easier. The person making the coffee run can send out a group alert asking people what they want; then, those people can place their orders online. The person going to Dunkin’ Donuts can print out the order or look at it on his or her phone.

Personally, I’m not a huge coffee drinker. I usually have a cup a day, so buying my coffee from a coffee shop doesn’t have a big impact on my budget. What about you? Has the economy changed your coffee drinking habits in any way?

14 Responses to Topline Trends Tuesday: Coffee talk

  1. Rosa says:

    I’m a big coffee drinker. I drink mine at home and very rarely go out for one (high prices & bad tasting coffees). Starbucks is far to expensive for me…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Barb says:

    On a cold snowy February weekend I’ll drink the whole pot but generally I have one or less cup per day. Preferably decaffinated. But. Lately I’ve been making pitchers of ice cold lattes and having two or three cups per week. I buy beans from our local roaster and grind them.

  3. Ugogurl says:

    I make the first cup @ home, then get one later on the road. Love Timmie’s (not sure why), but probably because I really do not like the taste of Starbucks or 2nd cup.

    Sometimes I will brew a pot and rewarm in the microwave later in day, but on weekends will drink the whole pot in a sitting.
    Kawfee yum :)

  4. Lorraine says:

    I usually only drink coffee on the weekends. I like the Van Houtte brand, but Tim Horton’s still has a strong pull anytime I’m travelling :)

  5. Rebecca says:

    I’m more likely to try inexpensive brands that are getting great reviews, like Eight O’ Clock Coffee. But the biggest change I’ve noticed is how many people are giving gifts cards to Starbucks and Dunkin’ Donuts. That indicates to me that coffee shop treats are definitely seen as luxury items right now.

    • danamccauley says:

      Good point!

      So, how is the Eight O’Clock Coffee? I recall my Baba (that’s Ukrainian for grandmother) liking that brand and she was a coffee nazi long before the soup nazi ever took a breath.

      • Rebecca says:

        So is my mommaw! She won’t drinking anything but Folger’s 100% Columbian.

        The Eight O’ Clock Columbian isn’t bad. Plus, some of the bags come with a $1 off coupon inside. Can’t beat that.

  6. hq says:

    Hmmm..I just try to drink more tea or dried fruit brewed drinks…and even barley water.

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/barley-water-recipe/index.html

    http://www.dailykos.com/story/20…7/23/1507/
    38613

  7. Yes it definitely has. I am not a giant coffee drinker but my husband is and he has seriously cut back on his lattes. Afterall the beans themselves aint cheep.

  8. The economy hasn’t change my coffee drinking habits since the majority of my caffeine is consumed at home before I am fit to be seen in public.

    I start my day with a large homemade latte. I figure it costs $.075 since I splurge on organic milk. That’s my caffeine for the day. Otherwise, I’m too hyped to type.

  9. cheryl says:

    Tea, and lots of it. Love coffee-flavored things… just not a huge fan of the brew itself.

  10. Coffee is a very essential part of my life. I start my day with Freshly Brewed South Indian Filter coffee. The coffee prices have shot up around the globe. In coffee producing countries there is only a marginal rise in prices.

    The pleasure of having coffee aroma wafting through and a newspaper is ethereal.

    http://shiyamsundar.blogspot.com/2009/05/filter-coffee.html

  11. Morgan says:

    I don’t drink coffee that often. It makes me jittery and gives me palpitations! So I stick with decaf, mostly, and don’t feel bad about buying something out. I like a decaf iced soy latte from Starbucks. It’s a real treat! I do make coffee at home for my husband and sometimes I’ll have half a mug but usually not.

  12. Margaret says:

    I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Margaret

    http://howtomakecompost.info

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

