Produce panic part two: basic crumble topping

blueberrypeachcrisp

So, you’ve got lots of yummy, fresh fruit and you just don’t know how to use it. All you have to do is cut enough of it up to make 6 cups (1.5L). What can you do now besides make a fruit salad? You can make a crumble! (You can call it a crisp if you prefer. I don’t care as long as you save some for me.)

It’s easy to make a crumble. Just toss your fruit with enough honey or sugar to make it palatable and sprinkle with 2 tbsp (30 mL) all-purpose flour; toss well and transfer to an 8-inch (20 cm) round or square baking dish.

Next, throw together the easy crumble topping below; sprinkle it thickly and evenly over the sweetened, raw fruit and bake in a preheated 350°F (180°C) oven for 45 to 60 minutes or until the fruit is bubbly and the topping is golden.

Basic crumble topping

3/4 cup (175 mL) all-purpose or whole-wheat flour
3/4 cup (175 mL) rolled or quick oats
2/3 cup (150 mL) packed brown sugar
1/3 cup (75 mL) melted butter

Toss the flour, oats and sugar together until evenly combined. Drizzle with butter and toss well.

By the way, this topping can be made in bulk and kept in a tightly sealed container in the freezer so that you can use it anytime.

Now, before I sign off, let’s take a poll. Which title do you prefer: crisp or crumble?

11 Responses to Produce panic part two: basic crumble topping

  1. I’m having a product panic, too. Made a clafoutis with the peaches since they were going to go bad, the freezer’s full and I’m out of jam jars.

    http://christie-corner.blogspot.com/2009/08/peach-melba-clafoutis.html

    I prefer the term “crisp”. But then I like onomatopoeia and crisp is such a perfect word.

  2. Beth says:

    I like crisp but I say crumble.

    I’m grocery shopping tonight so I’m going to get the stuff I need to make a crumble tonight. Out of brown sugar and fruit right now!

  3. Rosa says:

    That is one of my favorite ways of using fresh fruits! Yummy!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  4. cheryl says:

    I say crisp, but I’d eat either. Hell, I’d eat a betty or a buckle or a cobbler or a crimble or a crackle or a kerfluffle. I’d eat it all.

  5. Definitely crisp, and I just made one yesterday (peaches peaches peaches). YUM! Great photo too!

  6. tara says:

    My husband calls it crisp, I call it a crumble. Yours looks delicious, and nice tip on keeping the topping ready in the freezer.

  7. [...] via Produce panic part two: basic crumble topping « Dana McCauley’s food blog. [...]

  8. Heather says:

    Definately Crisp…I sometimes add some nuts to the topping…yumm…if it wasn’t so hot here, I’d make a berry crisp today…but too hot today to turn on the oven.

  9. Sally says:

    Hi,
    I found your site through google since I wanted to make a crumble type thing with some berries I bought, this was so fast and easy, I will definitley use it often, now only if they could come up with a non fat butter! Can anything else be used to make it healthier?
    Thanks for posting this!

    • danamccauley says:

      Alas – non fat butter would really take the fun out it all!

      Why not just use a deeper container – like a souffle dish – and double up the fruit so that you proportionally get half the butter, sugar and flour?

      Thanks for trying my recipe. I’m very glad you liked it.

  10. [...] Produce Panic danamccauley.wordpress.com [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

