150-calorie breakfast

2brekkieslr.jpg
To lose weight, I follow a very low-calorie, low-fat regime. With only 1,000 calories per day to consume, I carefully choose every bite to ensure it delivers not only as much nutrition as possible, but also as much enjoyment as possible.

Breakfast is a difficult meal for me. I’m often rushed in the morning and, truth be told, scrambled egg whites with salsa get boring after a couple of weeks. When I was gaining weight, I often grabbed a tall latte and a blueberry-white chocolate scone from Starbucks on the way the work; however, that 560-calorie indulgence (100 for the latte, 460 for the scone) didn’t make my fat ass any smaller.

To find a breakfast option that’s easy and makes for a satisfying meal with less than 180 calories, I turned to a black coffee and bars. No, I didn’t drink martinis for breakfast — a dry vodka martini is about 210 calories so it exceeds my calorie criteria! I’m talking about meal replacement bars.

While shopping for breakfast bar options, I discovered that most energy bars are higher in calories than I wanted. Here’s a list of the bars that did fit my criteria. I tasted each one and recorded my impressions so that you don’t have to read as many labels or suffer through the bad breakfasts I endured:

Atkins Endulge: Coconut (40 g, 180 calories). Super sweet with a terrible artificial sweetener aftertaste that not only lingered for hours but also ruined the taste of my coffee.
Bottom line: Yuck!

PowerBar Pria: Chocolate Peanut Butter Crisp (45 g, 170 calories). Cloyingly sweet but satiated me for quite a while.
Bottom line: Not my favourite for morning but may be good for people who love sweets and miss them while dieting.

SlimFast Optima: Chewy Caramel Crunch (30 g, 130 calories): The caramel flavour is super fake and there’s a weird crystallized texture at the finish that isn’t appealing.
Bottom line: Better than most, but still not on par with an egg white scramble.

Dr. Bernstein Protein Bar: Coconut Almond (40 g , 150 calories): This bar goes very well with coffee and actually tastes darn good. The texture is dense and although the bars are small, it takes long enough to finish each one so you feel like you ate something.
Bottom line: My hands-down favourite. (Note: I also tried their Chocolate Peanut Crunch variety but didn’t like it as much as the Coconut Almond.) Have you tried any of the other flavours? If so, please comment below.

Check out an Almond Granola breakfast recipe for about 150 calories/serving and Oats Plus Porridge for 118 calories/serving at homemakers.com.

Have a low-cal breakfast tip you’d like to share? I’d love to hear it!

18 Responses to 150-calorie breakfast

  1. mssofia says:

    Did you try Luna sunrise bar (blueberry yogurt or strawberries and cream)? It has 180 cal, but it also has 5 g of fiber, 8g of protein and 11 g of sugars. I would say, it’s not bad. I usually eat it once per week (after swimming) and it keeps me going until lunch. Good luck with your diet.

  2. danamccauley says:

    Luna, you say? I’ll have to track them down and give them a try. Variety, as they say, is the spice of life. Where do you buy them?

  3. mssofia says:

    Try Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods. Since I live in NYC, we also have Fairway market and they have them. My another quick breakfast is 1 multi-grain waffle (I use ones that Trader Joe’s sells in their frozen section) topped with 1/4 cup of low fat cottage cheese and some fruit (berries, mango, etc.). Waffle has 120 cal, cottage cheese (1% fat) 45 cal. I really love this breakfast (I ate it this morning with mango).

  4. danamccauley says:

    You mentioned some of my favorite NYC grocery stores! Don’t you love the hustle and bustle of Fairway? I bet standing outside Fairway could help a person lose weight. It must boost your metabolism to just watch those delivery cart guys pedal off into the neighborhood.

  5. mssofia says:

    Well yeah. I usually go to the one up in Harlem. I work at the City College, which is several block away, and love to take a break and walk to the Fairway and to see (and smell) the Hudson River (not when it’s cold like now, but when weather is nice, it’s just great). Though, I don’t like the cold room (is too cold and smell of meat is too strong for me).

  6. danamccauley says:

    I know what you mean about that cold room at the Harlem store. That said, I do like the fact that they have one and that you can walk inside and choose your meat. Such a great way to make shoppers feel involved. Those communal parkas kinda gross me out though.

  7. SACHIN says:

    Grab your Free Vegetarian Fat Loss Meal Plans

  8. V.Medvid says:

    As a nursing mother I wanted to lose the weight that I had gained over the years, but how could I do so without effecting my baby. The answer was in the pages of Suzanne Somers’ book. My weight was not a product of my pregnancies, but a product of not eating correctly. I have struggled with my weight since my early twenties and now in my late thirties I was looking for a healthy alternative that I could incorporate into my family’s lifestyle. I am teaching my daughters how to eat correctly and the weight is coming off of me in a way that I never thought was possible. I am not depriving myself or my baby of any of the nutrients that we need. Instead of having ups and downs in my energy all day, which called for quick pick me ups that were not so healthy, I now have a constant and consistent energy level that allows me to keep up with my three daughters. This is a lifestyle that we can all live with. I was skeptical at first, but when I lost over 5 pounds during the first week, I became a firm believer and follower. This book is worth the money and worth following – even if you’re not nursing a baby.

  9. Six Pack says:

    Hi!I think this blog is good!I found it on Google,I will surely come back!😀

  10. suzan says:

    nice article about egg white…very informtive and beneficial for me

  11. How about a medium slice of whole wheat bread with 2 tsp of regular jelly, 1/2 a cup of cereal with 1 cup of skimmed milk and 3/4 cup of orange juice.

    Just one of those low-calorie breakfast menus that works for me. See what you think of it.

  12. Carlos V says:

    I have been trying to find a low calorie breakfast meal that works. I go to starbucks alot and usually get the mocha frappachinno. I gonna try what you are doing and see if it works for me. Thanks.

  13. breadmaker reviews…

    […]150-calorie breakfast « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

  14. Jobs Curacao says:

    Jobs Curacao…

    […]150-calorie breakfast « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

  15. how many calories in a tomato…

    […]150-calorie breakfast « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

  16. Appreciate the best writeup. That actually once was a new discretion bill the idea. Look complicated to help way launched agreeable from you! Furthermore, what exactly is maintain a messages?

  17. Axl Hazarika says:

    It’s nearly impossible to find educated people for this subject, but you sound like you know what you’re talking
    about! Thanks

  18. What a information of un-ambiguity and preserveness of valuable
    familiarity regarding unexpected emotions.

Leave a Reply

