Surfin’ foodnetwork.com

chicken-cacciatorelr.jpgWith the television writer’s strike affecting my regularly scheduled television watching, I’ve had to turn to other evening activities. Besides countless games of Scrabulous (actually the games can be — and are — counted by the Scrabulous people. I just can’t face proof of how many hours I spend shuffling letters), I’ve been getting caught up on my trend-tracking research.My colleague Amy Snider brought Foodnetwork.com’s top 100 recipe list to my attention and I must say, I found it very gratifying reading. It seems that although people enjoy watching Heston Blumenthal demonstrate his molecularly gastronomic ways, home cooks are still looking for recipes to make their favourite foods at home.The Foodnetwork’s top 100 list includes both sweet and savoury recipes. I was glad to see many of the foods I included in my new cookbook Dana’s Top Ten Table tops in the savoury department. Macaroni and Cheese, Meat Loaf, Grilled Pork Ribs, Swiss Steak, Cheesy Broccoli Bake, Chicken Cacciatore, Oven Fried Chicken, yup, we have all those things (and many more) in common.What does it mean? Not much, I guess. However it’s good to know that my list of top recipes is so very close to everyone else’s favourites. Sort of makes the world a smaller, cozier place doesn’t it?What do you prefer, leafing through a cookbook or surfing the Net to find a way to turn pantry ingredients into dinner?Although I have no doubt that foodnetwork.com presents a fine Chicken Cacciatore Recipe, I hope you’ll give mine a try. When I have time, I serve it with creamy polenta or buttered papradalle. If I’m in a rush though, I serve it over thickly sliced, toasted slices of Italian bread which is delish, too!Classic Chicken CacciatorePrep time: 25 minutesCooking time: 45 minutes2 tbsp (30 mL) all-purpose flour1 tsp (5 mL) each salt and pepper2 lb (1 kg) chicken drumsticks3 tbsp (45 mL) vegetable oil1/2 cup (125 mL) red wine or low sodium chicken broth1 large onion, sliced1-1/2 tsp (7 mL) each dried thyme and oregano leaves2 cups (500 mL) sliced mushrooms, about 4 oz/125 g1 can (28 oz/796 mL) diced tomatoes3 tbsp (45 mL) tomato paste4 tsp ( 20 mL) balsamic vinegar1 green pepper, cored and chopped2 cloves garlic, mincedBlend the flour with the salt and pepper. Coat the chicken evenly in this mixture. Heat half the oil in a deep skillet or Dutch oven set over medium-high heat. Brown the chicken all over, working in batches. Transfer browned pieces to a bowl.Stir the wine into the pan and bring to a boil. Stir to scrape up the cooked on bits. When the wine is reduced by half, add the remaining oil and reduce the heat to medium. Add the onion, thyme and oregano. Cook, stirring often, for 5 minutes. Add the mushrooms and cook for 5 minutes longer. Add a small amount of the diced tomatoes to scrape up all the cooked on bits. Then add the remaining diced tomatoes, tomato paste, vinegar, green pepper, and garlic.Bring the mixture to a boil, stirring often with a wooden spoon. Nestle the browned chicken pieces into the tomato mixture and reduce heat to low. Simmer, stirring and turning the meat occasionally, for 45 to 50 minutes or until chicken is cooked through and juices are thickened. Makes 4 to 6 servings.Recipe from Dana’s Top Ten Table: 200 Fresh Takes on Family-Favourite Meals. Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd. Copyright (c) 2007 by Dana McCauley. All rights reserved. Reprinted by permission of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.

2 Responses to Surfin’ foodnetwork.com

  1. Debbie says:

    Iam am going to make this chicken cacciatorie this weekend.Iam constantly looking for tasty meals that are easy on the pocketbook.I checkout the blog daily for ideas and always leave something to make for my family!

  2. Natashya says:

    Looks delish, I love cacciatore, and pasta… and wine… and bread..🙂

Leave a Reply

