My favourite kitchen gadgets

Whisk

I’m very loyal to my favourite things. I committed long ago to my brands of laundry detergent and toothpaste and never consider changing. My bias for the tried-and-true follows me, of course, into the kitchen, too. I have favourite pots and pans, and I even have a favourite knife and tongs that I pack when I travel so that I always have them at the ready and ingredient preferences that would puzzle most normal people.

Given these predilections for the familiar, it’s not every day that a new gadget or kitchen do-dad wins me over. However, that’s just what happened the first time I picked up this wooden handled whisk from Browne & Company. Although I can’t put it in the dishwasher, the feel of this tool in my hand is so wonderful that my laziness is secondary to my desire to whisk up a cyclone!

What’s your favourite kitchen gadget?

5 Responses to My favourite kitchen gadgets

  1. Corey Mintz says:

    Thanks for the props and link. I’m curious how my site will develop too. At Eye I have a tough editor and a clear mandate. I like the freedom of writing for myself but I don’t want it to descend into a diary.

    My favourite tool is a blue, unburnable, unbreakable, unstainable, flexible, one-piece spatula I found at Fortune a year ago before they closed. It was the last one on the rack and there are no manufacturer’s markings on it.

  2. danamccauley says:

    You’d better keep your door locked now that the world (okay the few thousand people who read this blog) know that you have a one-of-a-kind spatula!

    I’m sure your blog will be fab even without an editor. Freedom is good my young padawan. I bet it will find its own shape and cadence. I totally agree that reading a catalogue of someone’s daily activities is dull. Just try to get a couple of useful tips into each post and you’re there!

  3. danamccauley says:

    Ooh – cool stuff (literally with that anti-griddle!). I wonder how the Smoking Gun works? I can’t imagine using it at home but for restaurants it could be an interesting tool.

    Thanks Sabrina!

  4. Amazing post.
    I guess you will check out our website..
    See ya

Leave a Reply

