Call me Countess of Sandwich

SandwichI’ve never been bothered by the obscurity of my birth. As a third generation Canadian, I’m proud of the fact that my family name ranks the same as everyone else’s.

That said, if I were ever going to buy a royal seat, I think I’d like to become the Countess of Sandwich. Not only is Sandwich a fitting name for someone with my vocation, but also I love that I would be linked to the British aristocrat who history credits with inventing one of my favourite foods.

Yes, everyone would love me if my name was Countess Sandwich.
Proof that many, many people love sandwiches is easy to find. Consider the latest foodservice trends: as health concerns about fast food have emerged over the last decade, what have donut shops and burger joints added to their menus? Sandwiches. In fact, sandwich consumption has increased by more than five per cent both at home and at restaurants in the last few years. Sandwiches are even one of the top 10 things we make for dinner.

Interestingly, there are fewer sandwich focused blogs than you might expect to find. There’s reality sandwich but it turns out not to be about sandwiches at all and there is I Love Sandwiches, but no site I’ve found really taps into the essence of sandwich love and lore.

What I can tell you as a trend tracker is that toasted sandwiches are all the rage at restaurants and crusty buns instead of bread are the new norm. Likewise, look for more small scale sandwiches like Quizno’s Sammies designed to be a light bite and for Banh Mi, the Vietnamese-style subs that all the college kids love, to become mainstream in the near future.

What would your name/title be if you were to buy a royal seat?

6 Responses to Call me Countess of Sandwich

  1. Amy says:

    Dana – is Countess of Cheddar up for grabs??
    Then I would have an excuse to eat even more of one of my favourite cheeses.

  2. Andrea SK says:

    What about Everybody Likes Sandwiches?

    (http://everybodylikessandwiches.blogspot.com)

    It’s one of my faves.

  3. danamccauley says:

    Thanks for the recco Andrea. I checked out Everybody Likes Sandwiches and I like her blog very much (after all she has a post called Pantry Raid and I wrote a book called Pantry Raid – we’re practically kin!). But ELS doesn’t have a whole lot of sandwich content from what I could see. I’ll def go back to read her posts though.

    And Amy, you are definitely cheesy enough to be the Coutness of Cheese! Although I might dub you the Marquisa of Martinis if I were making the choice on your behalf. ; )

  4. MelBell says:

    Since the Countess of Cheese/Cheddar is taken, can I be Queen of el Queso?

    Gracias.

  5. danamccauley says:

    Certainly! Welcome to the realm of royalty.

  6. danamccauley says:

    Dear friends,

    It is with great pride that I announce that I have been publicly acknowledged as the Countess of Sandwich:

    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=2255371751

Leave a Reply

