Paris: a food lover’s paradise

FishDoes anyone know the name for the feeling that’s a combination of humility and envy? I need to know ‘cause I’ve been dealing with that unnamed emotion for a week. Last Tuesday I dialed into my RSS feeder to see what was going on in the many food blogs I enjoy reading. Turns out all the cool foodies are writing about their adventures in Paris:

Over at Orangette preparations are under way for a baguette-sampling trip to Paris while David Leibovitz (who I guess should be allowed to write about Paris given that he lives there) is talking about romantic Parisian restaurants. Then there’s Mark Bittman who goes through his archives to bring us the best of his Paris posts. Obviously, Paris is still the quintessential foodie travel destination in springtime.

Then there’s me. I saw the Eiffel tower the other day myself except it was this cheesy knock off and not the one located in actual France. Yeah, I know, I’m the classiest person you know and you really, really want to be my friend.

Despite the snark, I had some great French food experiences in Las Vegas. For instance, there was a great bistro dinner at Bouchon. This Thomas Keller satellite restaurant at the Venetian Hotel is a great place to nibble on silken foie gras terrine (if you go, share it as a starter –it’s huge) and to eat classically perfect trout almandine.

Martin and I also ate at Joel Robuchon’s eponymous restaurant that recently received 3 Michelin stars. Surely dining on the wares of a living French food icon makes me almost as cool as these transatlantic travelers?

Not convinced? Let me persuade you: dinner at Robuchon was a wonderful meal that I’ll always remember. The décor at Joel Robuchon is truly sumptuous: the massive chandelier that dominates the room is a crystalline feat of engineering while dark purple velvet banquettes, lavender silk curtains, black lacquer tables and white leather chairs furnish the room. I know it sounds like a brothel yet the room ends up being chic and elegant. Go figure.

Highlights of the lavish, $250 per person (yes, you read that price correctly and no, that amount didn’t include wine), six course meal we chose included the amuse bouche which featured avocado, fresh cheese and a tomato glee. Also wonderful was a hand-harvested, pan-seared Brittany sea scallop on a lobster sauce. Delish! Of course there were truffles thrown about lavishly (one course featured thinly sliced layers of black truffles used like nori to encase smoked eel and rice) but these two dishes had the most memorable flavours and textures.

Although the Arc du Triomphe I saw last was a miniature used as the entrance to a Vegas hotel breezeway, I suppose I shouldn’t feel jealous of these food writers who are enjoying Paris. After all, going to Paris right now would be like having my cake and eating it, too.

What’s the most memorable French food experiences you’ve had outside of France?

Note: Congratulations to Paul Villeneuve of Surrey, B.C., the winner of our Slow Cooker Mystery Word Contest. His entry was selected in a random draw and he correctly identified “jambalaya” as the mystery word to win a Hamilton Beach 3-in-1 slow cooker and a signed copy of Dana’s Top Ten Table. With almost 12, 000 entries received, thanks everyone who entered this contest and made it a great success.

11 Responses to Paris: a food lover’s paradise

  1. […] were new to me, it was only a few hours before I saw this garnish on another menu at ultra fancy Joel Robuchon. A quick Google search this morning finds these crispy little orbs of protein showing up on menus […]

  2. rocket french

    haha nice one mate i like this post!

  3. rypkdaqzx nrclg rbalgy pzjkoanlc kqacxw fnby cprwgk

  4. mantolama says:

    mantolama…

    […]Paris: a food lover’s paradise « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

  5. Black Curtains…

    […]Paris: a food lover’s paradise « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

  6. Completing all over again work outs in relation to day-to-day underside is usually unbelievably sensible and as well remarks big solution while in the immediate as well as potential.

  7. The only thing you have to do is to utilize this laser leveler
    tool which will project a visible laser-cross on the walls by simultaneously, displaying accurate horizontal
    and vertical lines within seconds. Mark out one line equal to the width of your floor space.

    If you haven’t yet, open the box your motherboard came in and use
    the manual to make sure you have everything that
    should be there.

  8. Hai says:

    wonderful issues altogether, you simply received a
    brand neew reader. What may you suggest about your
    put up that you simply made some days ago?
    Any certain?

  9. I love it whenever people get together and share thoughts.
    Great website, stick with it!

  10. Definitely believe that that you said. Your favourite reason appeared
    to be at the internet the easiest factor to
    take into accout of. I say to you, I certainly get irked even
    as other people think about concerns that they just don’t
    recognise about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the
    highest as neatly as defined out the whole thing without
    having side-effects , folks can take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  11. Good information. Lucky me I discovered your site by accident (stumbleupon).
    I’ve bookmarked it for later!

Leave a Reply

