Sweet treats for dieters

Chimes ginger chewsOnce a sweet tooth always a sweet tooth, I suppose. Although I’m trying to maintain my slim and trim new self, I do find it difficult to make the right choice when I get a hankering for something sweet. Cravings for Cluizel chocolate or Fat Witch brownies are only partially relieved by apple wedges or a yogurt. I have an aversion to the aftertaste of artificial sweeteners like aspartame so my sweet snacks, even the virtuous ones, need to be made with real sugar.

Although I’ll always love a decadent chocolate treat above all else, I have discovered a few better choices are that are satisfying and don’t leave me feeling like I’ve settled for second best.

Chimes Ginger Chews: Bonus points for coming in such a fab package, these all-natural, intensely flavoured confections are just 16 calories each. Each candy is individually wrapped, so you have to think twice before you pop a second one in your mouth.

Peek Freans Lifestyle Selections Cranberry Citrus Oat Crunch: Satisfyingly crisp and just sweet enough to cut the bitterness of coffee well, these cookies are less than 50 calories each.

Do you have a skinny sweet treat that you’d like to tell us about?

7 Responses to Sweet treats for dieters

  1. Meena says:

    Hi Dana, I’m a crazred chocolate addict, and can’t give it up even if it was going to kill me! I’ve now started buying on ly the best in bittersweet ones, and most often than not, I find myself totally satisfied with just one square piece of it. The trick is to let it melt naturally in yor mouth while you enjoy the long lasting flavour. Hmmn… I think I’m gonna go grab myself a piece now, you just tempted me to!🙂

  2. danamccauley says:

    Don’t blame me – you’re the one who stared talking about chocolate! Sounds like a good idea though.

    My favorite bittersweet chocolate is (as I mentioned above) Michel Cluizel. I’ve found a little of their excellent 70% cocoa chocolate goes a very long way but if I have it in the house it just beckons to me with its Siren’s song….I am weak in the face of chocolate. : )

  3. Mary Luz says:

    I too love Cluizel- especially the single estate varieties. Recently, I was given a small square of Amedei’s Toscano Black 70% and I have to tell you- the roasted coffee notes in this bite of heaven is outstanding! Terrific Italian chocolate found at many specialty stores and yep, one square helps satiate the sweet tooth!

  4. danamccauley says:

    Another wonderful chocolate company is Sliti – they have cocoa dusted chocolate raisins that are absolutely wonderful!

  5. rona maynard says:

    I can’t resist the chocolate-covered orange peel at soma in Toronto (and a few other shops). I love the contrast between the racy dark chocolate and the bitter orange. These treats are pretty, too, and they come in a small packet so you can’t overindulge. There’s no calorie count (I can’t imagine the sensualists at Soma concerning themselves with such things). But hey, how caloric can it be?

  6. danamccauley says:

    A question better left unasked, I’m sure Rona! Soma also has a lovely orange flavored chocolate that comes in bar form. I love to grate it over my cafe latte.

  7. Brownie says:

    Another great treat is cake-style brownies baked with Valrhona chocolate.

Leave a Reply

