More about grilled cheese

Grilled cheeseI know I wrote about grilled cheese in January but here I am with these crisp, buttery examples of cheesy goodness on my mind yet again. As I mentioned in my first post, I served mini grilled cheese as one of many hors d’oeuvres at my holiday party. I also saw them served at several catered parties I attended during the festive season. Now, well into the spring season, sightings of cocktail party grilled cheese sandwiches continue: triangular grilled cheeses (really a little too big to be considered canapés) were served at the wonderful Queen Street Unmasked party held at the Drake Hotel to raise money and awareness for mental health prevention and treatment. Then, at Terroir II Symposium, the grilled cheese lollies pictured above were on offer by the chefs from C5. So cute and really yummy!

Isn’t it interesting that as much as full-sized grilled cheese are still a wonderful choice for lunches and dinners, they seem to be taking over for mini quiche and spanikopita as the ubiquitous hot, cheesy hors d’ouevres of choice?

4 Responses to More about grilled cheese

  1. Sophie says:

    Hi, I am new to your blog so this is the firs time I see those little grilled-cheese hors-d’oeuvres. They are so cute and something the kids will love and chic yet simple enough to put out on any occasion!

    hmmm… an idea use cookie cutters to make them in many shapes… how sweet!

    Thanks for the idea this is going to become a favourite I’m sure!

  2. dana mccauley says:

    Kids do love them! I made them as my kid friendly appetizer for a party over the holidays Sophie. I used a baquette that I cut into disks. I topped each one with a dollop of ketchup. Delish!

    Welcome! I hope you’ll continue to drop by here and comment often.

  3. Jean Geary says:

    Dana,

    Thanks so much for mentioning CAMH’s Queen Street Unmasked in your always-wonderful blog. Glad you liked the grilled cheese! We really appreciate your support.

    Jeanie

  4. danamccauley says:

    My pleasure Jeanie! You threw a wonderful party and it was for such an important cause. I”m so happy to be able to offer whatever support I can.

Leave a Reply

