Bacon infused vodka for breakfast

Dave Gerry

At the risk of turning this into TV week, I’m going to tell you yet another story about morning TV. About a week ago I went to Vancouver to prepare entrées that use Jif peanut butter as an ingredient on Breakfast Television.

When I arrived at the studio for my segment, co-host Dave Gerry was setting up the kitchen to make Caesar cocktails from vodka that he had infused with bacon. As readers of my Topline Trends newsletter know, smoky bacon is a massively popular flavour right now at every level of cuisine. (Believe it or not when my husband Martin was in Israel last fall, bacon was even big there!) Needless to say, Dave’s experiment set my trend tracking senses atingle. Turns out he found the instructions for making this vodka online at the Brownie Points blog and thought it sounded fun.

After the segment (that’s Dave and Sima Sara on air above), I tried his vodka and can declare that it was, in fact, redolent of porky goodness; however, the flavor was pretty subtle so if you make this concoction yourself, use it for martinis instead of the Caesars Dave made or choose a double smoked bacon to use in the infusion to amp up the flavour.

If Caesars aren’t your thing, New York Magazine has yet another way to add bacon to your booze.

3 Responses to Bacon infused vodka for breakfast

  1. Food lover says:

    Bacon really is one of the most popular foods lately but bacon in your booze? What’s next, bacon flavoured egg nog for breakfast?

  2. danamccauley says:

    I know you’re joking but I’d try that drink!

    In fact, people like Heston Blumenthal, the innvoative British chef, and David Leibovitz, the Paris based cookbook author, have used similar flavors to make ice cream. Check out David’s blog post:
    http://www.davidlebovitz.com/archives/2008/03/candied_bacon_i_1.html

  3. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and
    checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

