Amy Snider: not your typical Becky Homecky

Amy Snider is the fresh face of fibre and one of my closest colleagues. She devotes a considerable amount of her spare time to working hard to make sure that she and other professional home economists get the respect they deserve. Today she tells us why we all need to revise our opinions about Home Ec.

DM: So, what the heck is a home economist?

AS: A Professional Home Economist has graduated from a degree program related to home economics (in my case a BSc. Human Ecology, Foods and Nutrition) and is registered with the provincial governing body of the Ontario Home Economics Association. (There are also associations in New Brunswick, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba).

As professionals, we can generalize or specialize in many areas such as advertising and marketing, recipe development, food styling, product research, public health, media relations, teaching and textile design.

DM: So you don’t spend all day long making ponchos and teaching kids to macramé?

AS: Very funny, Dana. As you know from hanging out with me on a daily basis, my role in the office is to oversee our recipe development practice. I am also the office authority on nutrition-related issues that come up with our clients’ recipe programs, nutrient analysis, copy writing, product development and current trends and innovations.

DM: Describe your typical workday.

AS: I don’t have a typical work day – some days I spend time at my desk researching nutrition topics, running nutrient analysis or writing and editing recipes. Other days, I’m out of the kitchen doing spokesperson work, meeting with clients, leading recipe tastings or going to trade shows to research innovations in food… There are lots of days where find myself having so much fun that I say to myself – ‘I can’t believe this is part of my work day’ – I love it!

DM: What’s the difference between a home economist and a dietitian?

AS: A dietitian often has the same undergraduate degree (BSc. in Foods and Nutrition or Applied Nutrition) but has also completed a yearlong internship (most commonly in a hospital setting) under the authority of the Dietitians of Canada. After completion they register with the Dietitians of Canada.

DM: Can you tell me three reasons why home economists shouldn’t be the punch line of my jokes?

AS: Just three?
1. We are a vibrant group of professionals who are knowledgeable in our chosen fields.
2. Look at the popularity of programming on the Life Channel, the W Network, The Food Network, TLC and HGTV as key examples of society’s interest in all things domestic. Teaching these basic life skills of nutritious food preparation, household management, budgeting, etc. are at the core of the home economics profession.
3. At the end of the day, a Professional Home Economist has the Canadian consumer at heart.

7 Responses to Amy Snider: not your typical Becky Homecky

  1. green apple says:

    I went to school for a bsc at an Ontario university and no one told me that I could have jobs like Amy’s. I’ve been trying to get into an RD program and the stress is killing me.

    THanks for this info.

  2. danamccauley says:

    That’s a shame. We often have students from similar programs come to the TK as interns and I’ve heard about how competitive it can be for so many students to try for these RD spots.

  3. Amy says:

    Hey Green Apple,
    I recommend you check out the OHEA website for more information about the field of Home Economics…if you have the appropriate academic background, we would love to have you join…
    Amy

  4. Amy says:

    Hey all,
    For more info about us – visit the Ask a Professional stage at the Good Food Festival this weekend. There will be lots of us on hand to answer your questions about our profession and provide healthy eating tips and demonstrations….

  5. […] to keep us informed about the latest developments in the nutrition arena is my colleague and friend Amy Snider. Today she has interesting news about how food products are now being classified as health products […]

  6. […] carrots are tops Sometimes life is strange. Just last week I harangued to Amy, my co-worker, about how I was banning bagged carrots from my kitchen. The tumbled baby carrots, […]

  7. 11/27/2016 https://danamccauley.wordpress.com does it yet again! Very perceptive site and a good post. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

