FortiFido makes me say BLERGH!

I make a conscious effort to use this forum not as a place to rant but as an opportunity to highlight beneficial news and tips. But this announcement that functional beverages will soon be available for pets begs to be ridiculed. Seriously, this launch must be one of the stupidest things I’ve ever heard.

With stats about the global human food crisis as bleak as can be, this kind of product just irks me to no end. Please, if you feel compelled to buy one of these drinks for Fido, stop yourself and make a donation to Unicef or another charity that helps hungry people instead.

14 Responses to FortiFido makes me say BLERGH!

  1. Pet Lover says:

    Pets bring a lot of joy and many people (like me) would do anything to keep their dog healthy. I think you are way too harsh. Lots of people still help the poor and love their dogs.

  2. Amy says:

    I personally love animals and I don’t think Dana is advocating mistreating animals — since I personally saw the lengths that she went through for the pet in her care, but I totally agree with her stand here.

    When you see images of starving children — as human beings, we should all put our pets in the proper perspective. Not to mention the ecological ramifications of the additional plastic from these bottles….

    As much as I don’t want to slam you Pet Lover…. if we all had a “do anything” attitude when it came to helping to keep the world’s poor and marginalized healthy, the entire planet would be a better place to be.

  3. dinnerwithjulie says:

    What is it that is supposed to be better than regular water for Fido?

  4. Dana says:

    Yup, it’s fortified with vitamins and minerals, Julie.

    And, no matter how much I love my pet and think animals deserve respectful treatment, I am never, ever going to guy a product like this one –even if we get all of humanity’s problems sorted out and find myself choking on money.

  5. Jen says:

    I’m a pet lover too but I completely agree with Dana. Tap water suits my much-loved pets just fine and that bottled stuff looks like just another marketing ploy for the poor folks among us who think that spending more on your pet somehow means you love them more.

    If I’m spending my money on unnecessary bottled water for my pets while there are children that are dying from dehydration and hunger, I think I’m in need of a little perspective. Thanks for offering your perspective, Dana!

    J:)

  6. nice deals says:

    yeah, why wasting money , we can give our dog free clean water buying them bottled water I think is too much , Dana is right instead of buying unnecessary product we can donate some in charity.

  7. Cheryl says:

    You MUST be kidding. Functional beverages for humans are nutty enough (see Diet Coke Plus), but for dogs? C’mon. I think even my 10-year-old pug Simon would agree with Dana on this one.

  8. Animalover says:

    I absolutely adore my pets, and yes, thank you, I have plenty of “perspective.” But since I didn’t bear ANY of the world’s children, they’re not my problem, my fault, or my responsibility. Still, that being said, my pets will have to drink whatever brand of bottled water I happen to be drinking or drink tap water.

  9. Amy says:

    I don’t want to start a catfight…. but I question animallover’s perspective…. did you get to choose in the womb where you were going to be born?
    We all land in this world the same way, some of us are just luckier than others….thankfully not everyone has the same attitude that you do.

  10. danamccauley says:

    Catfight – hee!

    Although everyone is entitled to make their own choices, I really can’t see a reason to buy water enhanced with vitamins for people much less dogs.

    Pet Lover and Animallover, I appreciate you sharing your opinions and I hope you’ll continue to share them with us.

  11. youarefoolingyourselves says:

    Food and water are two of the basic life essentials. Why not make what your pet eats and drinks the most nutritious possible? If you all are woried about pet spending start with the needless spending on dresses, fancy colars, designer pooper scoopers and the like.

    This is really a great product. Try it and I’m sure your dog will love it. Send the money you would spend on all these other items.

  12. danamccauley says:

    Now that you mention those other items….they are ridiculous, too. So, cut them out and send that cash along to World Vision or Unicef, too.

  13. Nullipara says:

    What about the infants and toddlers walking around in designer label clothing and shoes? SUVs?
    Reality TV?
    I am not going to take on the task of solving all the worlds woes myself or choose to bagger any one who doesn’t wear organic clothing, eat tofu, and take yearly pilgrimages to southeast Asia.
    My dog has bad joints, if I want to buy my princess a 2 dollar bottle of water that can help her stay healthier longer, well guess what? That’s what I’m going to do.

  14. John says:

    I bought some of this stuff at Meijer. Only reason it was discounted about 15 times probably for not selling. I paid like 35 cents per lieter bottle of it. I thought.. ahh what the hell? I will buy some for my dog and treat him since it was so cheap. Well, my dog apparently liked the water, however.. not sure if it was a coincidence or not, my dog ended up getting urinary crystals and an infection. May have already been going on, but now I am out hundreds and hundreds of dollars trying to fix that problem. And my poor dog is suffering. Not sure I will ever buy this product again.

Leave a Reply

