Dana’s Big Gardening Adventure: Belgian endive

I took this picture at the International Association of Culinary Professionals (IACP) Conference in New Orleans where the California Endive Growers were teaching food pros about this elegantly shaped, bitter lettuce. I was surprised to hear several people at the conference say that they grow their own Belgian endive. I always assumed it was a difficult veggie to grow and even now that I’ve heard more, the process seems complicated. But, folks who have done it seem to think that growing Belgian endive is well worth the effort.

If you’d like to give growing endive a try, you’ll need some instruction. Here’s an excerpt from Prairie Yard and Garden that describes it well:

“Belgium endive is a form of chicory that is intended for forcing in darkness, to produce a tight white, non-bitter head. Used in specialty salads or gently steamed as a vegetable, endive is a pricey vegetable to buy, but an easy one to grow.

First, be sure to obtain seed of witloof chicory. Sow the seeds in the spring in loose, fertile soil. After the seedlings are established, thin them to four to six inches apart and let the plants grow until fall. Keep them moist and fertilize once or twice during the growing season.

By fall, the plants will be large with strap-like leaves and thick white roots. Before the soil freezes, dig up the plants keeping those with roots at least one inch in diameter. Remove the small side roots and shorten the main root to 8 inches. Cut the foliage one inch above the crown. Store the roots in a cool place inside a box of peat moss until you are ready to force them.

For forcing, select a large pot – a black pot or a two gallon nursery pot works well. Place the roots vertically in the pot and fill with sand or potting soil to the point where the leaves emerge from the crown and water well. Next, take a second pot, seal the drainage holes on the bottom to exclude light, and place it over the plant crowns. Keep the pots where the temperature is between 55 and 65 degrees.

The pale compact chicons will be ready to harvest in three or four weeks. They can be either cut whole or a few leaves at a time. Often the harvested crowns will sprout again yielding a smaller chicon.”

Or, for the visual learners in the crowd, check out these fab pics of the process at Kitchengardeners.org.

12 Responses to Dana’s Big Gardening Adventure: Belgian endive

  1. jen says:

    Hi Dana, I was delighted to see your comment on my blog. I am a Canadian too, and it’s always nice to get a sister countrywoman’s feedback. I’m curious, how did you happen upon it?

    This post comes at an appropriate time, as I just spent three hours in my garden, readying the soil for planting. I won’t be tackling endive this year, but it’s great to have inspiration for future years when I have more space! Love the blog, take care!

  2. Hi Jen,

    Thanks for stopping by! I hope you’ll visit often. I think I got to your fine blog via Julie Van Rosendaal’s blog.

    Good luck with your garden. I hope to plant next weekend! Got any tips?

  3. Christine says:

    Hi D- Thanks for the comment on my blog. This is my first container veggie garden and I am either going to have a green thumb or kill everything!! I do love endive and would love to tackle this vegetable! I will keep coming back to see what tips and advice you have! I know I am going to need help! Thanks! Keep in touch! – C

  4. Kitt says:

    Fascinating. I had no idea there were so many steps involved! How do commercial growers do it?

  5. danamccauley says:

    How do they do it, indeed! I guess that’s why Belgian endive is so pricey in stores.

    Hope to see you often Christine!

  6. www.ebay.com says:

    It’s remarkable designed for me to have a web site, which is useful designed for my knowledge. thanks admin

  7. Peat Pots says:

    An intriguing discussion is definitely worth comment. I think that you ought to publish more about this subject, it might not be a taboo
    subject but generally people do not speak about these subjects.
    To the next! All the best!!

  8. Hi friends, how is all, and what you would like to say regarding this post, in my view
    its really remarkable in support of me.

  9. Pretty! This was an extremely wonderful post.
    Thank you for providing these details.

  10. Hello! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog.
    Is it very hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but
    I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to start.
    Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Thank you

  11. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long
    as I provide credit and sources back to your site?
    My blog site is in the exact same area of
    interest as yours and my visitors would really benefit from some of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this alright with you. Regards!

  12. Hey! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay.
    I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

Leave a Reply

