Peanut butter cravings

I have a confession to make and I want all of you to swear you won’t tell my husband Martin about what I’m going to say. Here’s my secret: I sometimes have overwhelming cravings for peanuts. The reason this information is classified as top secret personal beeswax is that my beloved hubby is deathly allergic to peanuts. As a result I feel very guilty about my love for this and all other legumes. It just seems like a betrayal to relish a food that could kill my man. Truthfully, a better spouse would be able to swear peanuts off in the name of loyalty, but, regrettably, peanut butter is stronger than I. The more I forbid myself, the more I crave the stuff. (Apparently it only takes one acre of peanuts to make 30,000 peanut butter sandwiches and some days I think I could eat all 30,000 myself!)

The result of my peanut butter deprivation is deep-seeded guilt mingled with longing. In fact, When Martin is out of town I admit that I succumb to the occasional peanut butter binge followed by intensive, obsessive kitchen cleaning (the next peanut fest can happen in June when he goes diving in Newfoundland!). Likewise, when I travel alone for business, it isn’t the little bottles of booze in the mini bar that I find alluring. No, it’s the cocktail peanuts. I almost always eat them before I check out.

Since misery loves company, I was pleased to discover that I’m not alone. It turns out there’s a support group for people like me. It’s called the Peanut Butter Lover’s Club. And, in NYC (where they have at least one of everything) there’s an all peanut butter restaurant called Peanut Butter & Co. Sandwich Shop.

Is peanut butter your guilty pleasure? Or do crave something even more forbidden? Come on. Don’t be shy. You can tell me.

16 Responses to Peanut butter cravings

  1. Susan says:

    My guilty pleasure is chocolate – especially good quality milk chocolate. So decadent.

  2. Cheryl says:

    I love the thought of you in some hotel somewhere frantically pushing aside the little mini-bar bottles and heading straight for the nuts. A great image!

  3. Glad that image pleases you! Regrettably, not a lot of people eat that mini bar junk so I often get stale peanuts. Gasp!

    Susan, haven’t you heard? Chocolate is a health food now.

  4. Jen says:

    I absolutely love peanut butter. Honest-to-goodness I could eat a PB and J every day of my life and it still wouldn’t be enough! I love Jif Creamy the best!

  5. sophie says:

    I do not like the texture of pb but love the taste so I put it in recipes or a good ol fashion pb banana sandwiches. My son on the other hand can eat it straight out of the jar.

    My guilty pleasure is chocolate, dark chocolate is the best and the best thing about it, it’s healthy, I’ve been saying it for years but no one would believe me hihi!

    I love your blogs Dana, Thanks for sharing your love for food with us!
    Have a great day!

  6. danamccauley says:

    Sophie, thanks for your kind words! On the peanut butter texture topic, you know what I like that people think is insane? Peanut butter and romaine lettuce sandwiches! The sweetness of romaine is complimentary to the pb and the texture of the lettuce whisks the gooey peanut butter off your palate quickly.

  7. OK. It’s a little strange, but you told me not to be shy: pickled herring, usually in sour cream. Honest. It’s like having a little supply of crack in the fridge….
    Unfortunately I’ve never seen it in the hotel mini-bar fridge, then again I’ve never been to Norway….

  8. danamccauley says:

    That is indeed the first time I’ve heard someone call pickled herring a ‘guilty pleasure’. You are an original!

  9. Christine says:

    I can’t live without chocolate and peanut butter. That is what I would bring on the deserted island with me!

  10. Mark Boxshus says:

    Peanut Butter and great chocolate are two of my biggest passions, and I can’t imagine a day without a “hit” from one or the other. If you want to experience an incredibly obscene and insanely selfish moment of decadence, grill up a peanut butter and chocolate ganche sandwich and finish it off with a dusting of powdered sugar. I guarantee you’ll be a changed woman!

  11. danamccauley says:

    I gaurantee that would change me as well – I bet I’d be bigger all around!

    Of course, I’m kidding. This sounds great, Mark!

  12. Heather says:

    I love peanut butter, and don’t know what I’d do if anyone in my home was allergic. My favorite way to eat PB is in my cereal, I know it sounds wierd, but my dad taught me to love it that way, and I’ve always been daddy’s girl.

    BTW did you know that PB is the fastest way to stop hiccups? I have yet to find someone that it doesn’t work on, just a spoonful of Peant Butter makes the hiccups all gone, in a most delightful way😉

  13. danamccauley says:

    Interesting about the hiccup tip – makes sense when you think about how hiccups work.

    How do you add it to your cereal? By the spoonful as a dolloped on topping or blended with the milk to make a fluid mixture?…?

  14. Heather says:

    I add it by just dolloping it on top, actually often in the middle. Then, I take a little bit on my spoon for each bite. My dad often would use the milk to soften his cereal a bit, then mixed the PB right in, and if there happened to be some chocolate cake around, in it went too. Not the healthiest breakfast in the world, but nice for a treat once in a while.

  15. JC says:

    I can not live without peanut butter either. I even have my own embarrassing PB confession – when I go out for breakfast I can’t help but eat one of the small single-serving packages that sit on the table… sans toast. I’m told that it is a fetish I inherited from my Grandpa. Like myself, he ate it by the spoonful from the jar!

Leave a Reply

