Great design, great gadgets

I’m not a huge gadget fan. I’d rather have a few versatile tools than a bunch of single-use items that clutter up my kitchen. That said, I’m the first to applaud good design and champion a great new innovation. For instance, I had one of the first seats on the microplane band wagon.

This summer I’m excited to have this smart juicing device in my drawer. You get so much juice out of lemons and limes with so little effort and mess using this press that homemade lemonade and caipirinhas will be flowing like water! While the design of this juicer is admirable for it’s functional prowess, there are a slew of tools that are also notable for their beauty available from MoMA’s store (did I mention that my birthday is approaching?):

Measuring Tape Timer
Cutting Board Organizer
Folding Bread Board
Party Sporks
Splash Bowls

10 Responses to Great design, great gadgets

  1. Beth says:

    Those splash bowls are cute – kinda like Dr. Seuss invented them.

    I like the cutting board set, too.

  2. Cheryl says:

    Ooh, I have the same juicer and I swear by it. I bought a Cuisinart electric juicer a few years ago and now I never use it because I prefer the lo-tech, handheld one so much more.

    The party sporks and kitchen timer/tape are also fun. I’m constantly running around my house trying to locate my timer & ruler and am rarely successful in finding either when I need them (which is often). They’re usually in a laundry basket/under a bookshelf/in a toy box. I blame my kids. (It’s so much more fun than acknowledging my own disorganization.) Fun post!

  3. When I first saw this particular citrus juicer I had to laugh. I’ve been using the one large enough for lemons (the yellow one) for both limes and lemons for years. This two-sized version seems like a design born solely on the drafting board.

    In the MoMA tools, I see mostly design NOT following function. Although attractive to look at, most of these, with the exception of the splash bowls, lack practical value.

  4. The second sentence above may not make sense since there was supposed to be a link (http://xrl.us/bk75j) embedded in it.

  5. danamccauley says:

    It works well with both bits. I’ve used the single press like the one in the link you added PH and it works well, too to be sure.

    i think the cutting boards in the MoMA links are very functional and offer a great way to keep your boards organized and at the ready.

  6. I’m such a sucker for gadgets (I think I get that from my father, lol). Actually, I just bought a Microplane grater, but haven’t even tried it out yet!

  7. danamccauley says:

    lou, you’ll love it for garlic and ginger and nutmeg and ….

  8. giz says:

    I bought this juicer for my daughter – not cheap – BUT – the best juicer you’ll ever find anywhere – extracts every last drop of juice. Truly a great gadget

  9. danamccauley says:

    I also love that it is easy to clean and doesn’t need power – a trifecta of good qualities!

  10. johnkeets says:

    splash bowls are nice

Leave a Reply

