Street legal but seriously stupid

Sadly, there seems to be a market for candy and soft drinks inspired by drug culture. The most offensive example is Blow, a drink powder product that comes in glass vials that are further packaged in ‘stash boxes’ or ‘bricks.’ Some versions of this product also come with a Blow ‘credit card’ that can be used to divide the powder into portions.

Other products in this category include Crackheads Candy (which I mentioned a few weeks ago) and the notorious Cocaine Energy Drink that also borrow their names from drug culture. I noticed while researching these products that the contact info for both Blow and Cocaine indicates that these companies are located In Las Vegas. If only theses products were an example of something that ‘happens in Vegas, staying in Vegas.’

I’ve always thought of myself as a pretty open-minded person with a good sense of humour but I admit that I find these products worrisome. What do you think – am I overreacting? Are these drug-inspired products just harmless fun or an invitation to consider doing the real thing?

14 Responses to Street legal but seriously stupid

  1. Mom Quixote says:

    I’m with you on this one, and I’m pretty liberal myself. Just crazy, no?

  2. danamccauley says:

    Glad I’m not alone in finding this trend odd.

  3. Cheryl says:

    Horror show. Companies like this are extreme in their marketing because — guess what? — it gets people charged up and talking. Even if the press is all bad, they manage to get press nonetheless.

    And while I doubt using this candy can make someone more amenable to dabbling in real drugs, I do think it takes away some of the stigma, which helps no one.

  4. Siobhan says:

    I wouldn’t question your sense of humor. I took a look at the website ( http://www.iloveblow.com/ )here doesn’t really seem to be a joke behind it.

    There’s been quite a bit of glamorizing of drug culture of late. I don’t think this is a good thing.

  5. Kim says:

    My reaction is you have got to be kidding? What is this world coming too? No way would I let my kids buy candy like that if they were still kids. It is extremely offensive.

  6. megan says:

    I totaly agree with you. I wouldnt even want my 13 year old to see it. It’s just inviting trouble if you ask me!

  7. Khaki says:

    I can understand why it would make people uncomfortable, but I don’t think it will lure anyone into substance abuse unless they already have the inclination for it. In the same vein, I’ve noticed a commercial for Scion (car) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TTEgqlUvJgE and the tag line is “A small tweak makes a big difference”. I can’t help but think that they really wanted to say “A little tweak makes a big difference”. Tweak of course being slang for methamphetamine, which is surpassing cocaine in popularity among Scion’s tarket market…

  8. danamccauley says:

    Just what we need, meth heads driving!

  9. giz says:

    I can’t even begin to tell you how offensive I find this stuff. It’s bad enough kids are buying drugs in the school yards – who thinks it’s funny to create a fdrug culture candy and make it into a joke. Appauling.

  10. Martin Kouprie says:

    This just sends out the wrong message to kids and adults. Drugs are dangerous and addictive and this “Candy” seems to trivialize this fact.

  11. danamccauley says:

    Well said Martin! I knew there was reason I hang out with you. xoxo

  12. grant says:

    i doubt this will ever see retail. who would be willing to sell these in their stores? not many.

  13. Dave says:

    Salty and fatty foods are more addictive and more dangerous than cocaine (heart disease is the leading cause of death in the US according to the CDC–illicit drugs don’t even make the list) yet our whole culture not only trivializes this fact but incessantly bombards us with advertisements for these harmful drugs and makes them cheaply and readily available across the country. Food addiction is the most common and most socially acceptable of all drug addictions. Most illegal drugs (e.g. cannabis, cocaine, are safer than legal ones like salt, fat, alcohol and nicotine. Even caffeine is more dangerous than some illegal drugs like cannabis. Meth is pretty much the only seriously dangerous illegal drug. Even opium can be used responsibly.

    So no, I don’t think this product is anything to fuss over. Ill-advised maybe but there are much bigger problems to address.

  14. Dave says:

    I just realized this post is 7 years old. Oops. lol

Leave a Reply

