Dana’s Big Gardening Adventure: Dana considers professional help

I‘ve learned a lot so far on my big gardening adventure. For instance, bugs eat leaves and seed tape sucks (look to the left). In fact, I think I’ve learned just enough about food gardening to realize how much I don’t know. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining. In fact, I’m pretty thrilled to be learning so much about the complicated process of growing food!

I’ve already got a lot of plans about how to improve my techniques for next year. I’ll write more specifically about what I’ve learned not to do later in the year when I’m sure I know what I know (I hope that sentence made sense to you. It seemed pretty eloquent until I wrote it down!).

In the meantime I’m going to do more research of both the hands on and reading variety. I’d love to seek out professional help but I don’t think my schedule or pocketbook can afford the luxury. However, if you’re in a different situation, you might like to spend part of your summer on Mary Jane’s Farm. Although it sounds like a pot plot, it turns out that Mary Jane teaches people like me who want to garden organically how to get great results. It’s like a summer camp for green thumbs!

If you can’t go in person, check out their forums, magazines and books for armchair inspiration.

5 Responses to Dana’s Big Gardening Adventure: Dana considers professional help

  1. Cheryl says:

    I need Mary Jane! Then again, I’ll wait patiently for you to pass along your hard-earned tips, eloquent sentences or not…

    (And yes, they’re always eloquent!)

  2. Marie says:

    I have never heard of seed tape before. I guess that’s a good thing. MaryJane’s got great advice. I love her spin on things. She is very earthy.

  3. Miss Ifi says:

    I am starting to grow some herbs.. and I thought about venturing to the land of vegetables.. but I thought I should just try herbs this year..
    while considering vegetables I saw those seed tapes and I thought it was an awesome idea.. thank you for warning me about them!

  4. danamccauley says:

    I tried carrots, beets and radishes with seed tape and none of them did much of anything. When I told my mother about my lack of plants she mentioned she had a similar problem the year before. Too bad cause it’s super easy to plant using the tape.

  5. Kiley Kurrie says:

    Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Very useful info specifically the last part🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was looking for this certain info for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

Leave a Reply

