A virtual friend with cupcakes

“A friend in need is a friend indeed. A friend with cupcakes is better.”

I’m considering making this my epitaph. It’s kind of a twist on “Let them eat cake” but still all my own, don’t you think?

Regardless, those words remind me of one of my favourite blogs: Cakespy, where baking history and facts, butter cream, bakeshop tours and whimsical art come together in a happy little confection.

Check out these favourite Cakespy offerings:

Faceoff: Cupcakes Vs. Muffins
Donut Speak: Sweet talk about the iconic treat’s name
Cake walk in Victoria, BC.

PS: Today is the day that the Daring Bakers (Cakespy and I both belong!) will be posting their latest challenge. I’ve opted out this month for obvious vacation-related reasons but I hope you’ll visit the Daring Baker’s Blogroll and check out the wares produced by the hundreds of other Daring Bakers who are participating.

5 Responses to A virtual friend with cupcakes

  1. Cheryl says:

    Ah, I love having more sites to explore. Thanks, Dana. And you know how I feel about Victoria — so happy to have a baking-focused itinerary for my next trip up there!

  2. megan says:

    I had to bow out this month also.😦 Wish I had that known about that cakewalk in Victoria when I was there earlier this month. Next time!

  3. cpchristie says:

    Ohh, cupcakes. Thanks for pointing the way to another great site. If I get fat, I blame you!

  4. Lisa says:

    I hope you are having a fabulous vacation!!😀

    xoxo

  5. Pat Sinclair says:

    Dana- I hope you have a great vacation. Since we’re talking about cupcakes I want to tell you about a baking demo I did recently at the Mill City Farmer’s Market to celebrate Minneapolis 150th Birthday. Because I needed lots of samples, I used my mini-muffin pans with paper liners for baking my cakes. I raised the baking temperature to 375 degrees F. and baked them 15 to 18 minutes. To frost, I piped a Chocolate Buttercream Swiril on top. If your favorite part of a cupcake is the frosting (mine is!) these will become a favorite. Pat

Leave a Reply

