No rest for gourmands

This article about what chefs take with them on holidays got me thinking. I’ve been known to travel with my knives and a good set of stainless steel claw tongs but I usually only tote equipment if I’m expected to cook something at my destination. Most of the time I figure that being on vacation means that I’ll also be on vacation from being both a cook and a foodie.

Perhaps my attitude would be different if I had a cottage and, since no one ever invites me to theirs (maybe I should enroll in charm school?), I can’t really imagine packing up all my kit and kaboodle and laying in serious gourmet supplies for my holiday.

What about you? Are you a Judy Rogers or a Thomas Keller? Or, do you fall somewhere in between?

Regardless of what kind of pack horse you are, I bet you laughed at Sang Yoon’s entry and that deep inside you wish you were that cool, too.

9 Responses to No rest for gourmands

  1. Amy G says:

    I take my appetite! No matter my destination I always seem to put on a few pounds.

  2. danamccauley says:

    Tell me about! I’m just back from vacay (as you know – I’ve been going on and on about in this blog!) and I am a bloated cow.

  3. Cheryl says:

    I like Thomas Keller’s response the best.

    I don’t bring anything but do often wish I had my favorite knife and wooden cutting board. Plastic cutting boards and flimsy knives make me batty.

  4. How can you enjoy a vacation if you’re as fussy as Judy Rogers? Tell me she was joking. If so, she needs to work on her delivery. Maybe Sang Yoon can give her some pointers.

    I thought Anthony Bourdain was spot on.

    As for me, when I’m on holidays I don’t cook. I love exploring new cuisines and can’t do that if I’m the cook.

  5. Unfortunately, when I travel I often have to teach a knife-skills class sometime during the trip. That means bringing 20+ pounds of knives on the airplane. My minimum for classes is seven 10-in chef’s knives, 4 paring knives, a 10-in serrated knife, and a 10-in slicer. Sometimes, I’m requested to discuss Asian knives so I include 3 santokus and 3 Chinese cleavers. For my upcoming trip to Toronto, I need to add to that a couple of boning knives and a 10-in butcher’s knife. All-in-all, it’s not uncommon for suitcase to have more knives than clothing. Also, since a lot of my travel is international, customs is always fun.

  6. Martin says:

    Peter, if you’re flying Air Canada, look out! If your bag is over 50 lbs they’ll charge you $100 surcharge!

  7. Hélène says:

    I usually bring my favorite knife, my recipes & my spices. This sounds silly but if I’m anywhere in the world and I want to cook something using certain spices, I did to have them with me. I have like to bring a microplane.

  8. danamccauley says:

    Helene, you’re obviously in good company — look at the famous chefs who took similar items on their vacations!

  9. Suzan says:

    I think Anthony Bourdain had the best answer, and a couple of the other low maintenance chefs had my vote as well. The others come across as pretentious twits.

Leave a Reply

