Coconut cups

It seems that weddings are in the air for many of my young friends this year. Martin and I will have attended four weddings and as many wedding related parties in twelve months by the time Thanksgiving arrives.

I have to say that I’ve been impressed by the diversity of celebrations I’ve been asked to share. From traditional to quirky, the brides and grooms we know are letting their personalities shine through so that their weddings are anything but magazine layout knock offs. We’ve witnessed belly dancing and heard a bride pledge in her wedding vows to help her groom cope with the pain and anguish of being a lifelong Toronto Maple Leafs fan. Good times!

At a recent engagement party with a Hawaiian theme, I was particularly impressed by Heather and Mike, an enthusiastic young couple who trekked to T&T, bought whole coconuts and cleaned them to create pina colada glasses for the guests. (That’s Heather and Mike holding their own well-earned drinks above.)

Although the hostess had already taken every necessary step to make the party a success, I loved that this couple spent the afternoon before their party wielding machetes, joined in a mutual goal to encase alcoholic beverages in thematically sound barware. After all, if a couple can band together on a creative project that requires this magnitude of violence and still smile at one another, their chances of staying together have to be pretty damn good!

Have you been to a wedding or engagement party that entertained you in unexpected ways?  If so, tell us about it.

9 Responses to Coconut cups

  1. My husband is a Leaf fan, too. We didn’t write them into the vows, but managed to get a laugh anyway. What’s so funny about promising to “listen to you, although I may not like what you have to say”? Our friends and family found this hilarious.

  2. Kitt says:

    Wielding machetes together is a good way to start a marriage based on mutual respect!

    I threw a garden shower for my best friend, who had bought a house with her fiance. They had all the house stuff they needed, but a yard was new for them. The gifts were tools and seeds and garden-center gift certificates.

  3. Cheryl says:

    Given my unquantifiable love for coconut, I’m just depressed I wasn’t invited to Heather & Mike’s wedding. What a cute idea, and a LOT of work! I’m trying to think if my friends have been creative in their weddings (I wasn’t), but I’m coming up short. That’s kind of sad, actually…

  4. I just catererd a 25 th wedding anniversary in Muskoka (this idea could be applied to a wedding also) and the guests all signed two beautiful Muskoka chiars instead of a “guest book” to be given to the happy couple. A fab idea…..who looks at those guest books anyways???????

  5. Okay…so I am leaving 2 comments….the topic of entertaing guests unexpectedly is just how my wedding day played out: My husband and I (well I guess he was my boyfriend at the time) were not married and had our first son Tyler in July of 2001 (I know I am a sinner (did I even spell that right??)) so we planned to have a non-religous naming for Tyler (simmilar to a Chritening) on the dock of my cottage with very close family members and dear friends….the day before Tyler’s “Naming” Greg and I had the brilliant idea of getting married at the same time, but the catch was we were not telling ANYONE (Rev. John was in on it) until the ceramony itself….once Rev. John was done with Tyler we handed him over to my almost Mother-in-law and Greg and I got married!!! It was AWESOME…….it was the most stress free wedding I have ever attended and it was my OWN!! Greg and I just celebrated 7 happy years together with both our boys, Tyler and Colgan🙂

  6. danamccauley says:

    Char, thanks for sharing your story. I’ve always loved that you threw a surprise wedding. I do think it’s the only I’ve ever heard of before.

  7. farida says:

    interesting post! hmm, I am not sure if I have the right answer to your question though:) can’t think of anything in particularly as I haven’t been to a wedding party in ages!:)

  8. danamccauley says:

    It’s odd how weddings seem to cluster. Before this year, I think it had been three since I’d been to a wedding.

  9. There is apparently a bunch to know about this. I believe you made some nice points in features also.

Leave a Reply

