Chocolate and tea

Unless you’ve been living under a rock somewhere in the desert where it’s too hot to want to drink tea or to store chocolate in its solid form, it won’t be news to you that chocolate and tea are hot trends. In the last two years literally hundreds of new products in both categories have been launched.

In fact, as I was compiling items for my editor at Canadian House and Home to consider for the November and December 2008 food news pages assigned to me, I was almost playing eenie-meenie-minie-mo to choose between all the tea and chocolate options.

So, when I got a packet containing samples of Chocolatea, a product line that combines 100% organic leaf teas with good quality Belgian (but oddly not organic) chocolate, I wasn’t terribly excited. I admired the pretty packaging and colourful press materials and set the sample bars aside.

Truthfully, I was skeptical about how a delicate flavour like white tea could stand up to a dominant force like bittersweet chocolate. I’d been down this road before with Dolfin’s massala chai and chocolate bar and hadn’t really loved the texture or found that the tea made the chocolate more delicious than it would have been on its own.

So, when I got a note from my blogger pal Cheryl Sternman Rule who writes 5 Second Rule saying that she had just eaten all of her samples in one sitting, I took notice and cracked open the very dark chocolate and white tea bar. Even as I was pulling back the foil, I was still skeptical. But as the chocolate melted smoothly on my tongue, I was wonderfully surprised to taste both tea and chocolate in balance. Since then I’ve tried several other flavours. The wild raspberry tea and dark chocolate is particularly lovely with a nice fruity finish.

What do you think of chocolate and tea? Are they the next cookies and milk or just a fad? I urge you to tell me your thoughts below and to read Cheryl’s post about Chocolatea so that you can experience her impressions first hand.

9 Responses to Chocolate and tea

  1. Cheryl says:

    Judging by your photo, you got bigger samples than I did! I’d cry foul, but somehow the company must have intuited that you’d give the product a more uniformly positive review. I’m wondering if I need to take my palate in for a tune-up…

  2. danamccauley says:

    I’m sure your palette is just fine! It just comes down to differences in opinion, I think. That said, if I hadn’t tried the plain bar, I’m not sure I’d be as impressed by their blending ability.

    I tasted the chocolate when my palate was very ‘fresh’. It had been hours since I’d eaten anything else or had anything other than water to drink so I think that may have contributed to my taste experience, too.

  3. Beth says:

    These days I like my tea on ice. I’ve never been a fan of tea flavoured stuff (Green tea ice cream is gross!) Really, why bother?

  4. Hélène says:

    I just sat the at the computer with fresh baked chocolate chips cookies and a cup of green tea and the first story I read is yours. What a coincidence. What do I think of chocolate & tea? They are made to go together. I eat chocolate everyday and I feel the urge to drink tea with it. I never had cookies & milk, not even when I was young. I would love to taste that chocolate. Never heard of it before.

  5. I must live under a rock. I had no idea tea and chocolate were a hot trend. It’s been around for years. When I was in Portugal a few years ago, dark chocolate and Earl Grey tea was a popular blend. If this sounds strange, the place we were staying was a popular winter retreat for British snowbirds (if there is such a thing). To me, it was an odd combination that didn’t really work. I prefer my chocolate with coffee, chilies, ginger, orange or nuts — all stronger flavours.

    That said, the wild raspberry tea with dark chocolate sounds intriguing!

  6. danamccauley says:

    How about caramel and chocolate – does that combo work for you Charmian? That is, hands down, my favourite.

  7. I like a square or two of very dark chocolate dipped in hot tea – lovely. Haven’t tried a tea/chocolate blend, either in a tea or in a chocolate bar, but you wouldn’t have to twist my arm to do so!

  8. Cakespy says:

    I love chocolate and tea separately, but have never quite warmed up to them together. I think it’s a temperature thing though. I like my chocolate chilled, so that it can warm up and dissolve once put in my mouth, and maybe the added heat of tea would mess up my ritual. That having been said, I am intrigued by Chocolatea…it sounds like you had a good experience. I suppose I should “never say never” and give it a try–if it is all combined, maybe I would find that I love the flavors together!

  9. Poonam says:

    Hmmm, that was interesting. Looks like somethings will always remain mystery.

    I myself has been trying to solve the mystery of the legend that forces you to have “earn it before

    having it”, for a wile now. Could not understand much though.

    Let me know in case you get to understand the mystery of the Old Hound and the Legend

    By the way, good writing style. I’d love to read more on similar topics

Leave a Reply

