Dana’s Big Gardening Adventure: garden gone wild

If you’ve ever wondered how backyard gardeners deal when summertime travel and harvest season coincide, then this post is for you!

As it turns out, being away for over two weeks in August and leaving your garden to cope for itself is not the end of the world when you’re in the midst of the wettest summer on record. Not only was there no need to worry about my plants dehydrating, I came back to find that the garden was almost too moist in the low spots.

The side effect of this kind of moisture is that the weeds bolted as did water dense veggies like my cucumbers. As you can see from the picture above, my pickling cucumbers range from Chernobyl Betty-sized to the normal lovely pickle size I was hoping to grow. Although quite a few of my cukes are past the point of use, there are still blossoms and I found a number of smaller-sized specimens to cut up, sprinkle with cider vinegar and salt and serve to Oliver (one of his favorite TV time snacks!).

Besides putting them in the compost heap, does anyone have any ideas for things one can do with an overgrown cucumber? And, yes, since your mind went ‘there’ I will ask you to limit your suggestions to culinary uses only!

10 Responses to Dana’s Big Gardening Adventure: garden gone wild

  1. Kathryn says:

    Hey Dana,

    How about cucumber relish? (That should use one of them).

    Kathryn

  2. My mind didn’t go “there” since I was still thinking about your chocolate and tea post. What does that say about me?

    I’m not a big cucumber fan. I love English cucumber in a fresh salad, but beyond that, I can live quite happily without pickles. My best friend is Polish and they have more pickle recipes than you have cucumbers. Maybe just try some unusual pickles or pickle combinations?

  3. danamccauley says:

    You don’t like pickles? How can that be? I am a huge pickle lover!

    Thanks for the suggestions ladies!

  4. Candace says:

    My, what a big pickle you have! Sorry… I am no help… just wanted the opportunity to talk about your big pickle. 😛

    All jokes aside, I’m jealous of your gardening abilities… I kill basil and parsley.

  5. Cheryl says:

    An excellent morning laugh, Dana. You’ve just gone up an extra notch in my book.

    (No overgrown cucumber ideas for you, though. Sorry.)

  6. danamccauley says:

    Candace, I was born a black thumb – you can do it!

    Glad to add a laugh to the day – I could use one right now myself, I spent all morning working on a file and lost it! Grrr!

  7. Good god, that’s some big cuke. Hmmm…maybe throw a dinner party, and use that watermelon-sized gargantua cuke as a serving vessel for a nice salady-type dish? Shellac it, and use it as an ottoman?

  8. An ottoman, perfect!

  9. dinnerwithjulie says:

    I’ve never had such a problem. I have one measly zucchini in my garden, the size of a gherkin.

  10. danamccauley says:

    My son, usually a huge veggie fan, would say that even that zucchini is too big, Julie.

Leave a Reply

