Goat butter

A couple of years ago, goat butter started to turn up along with the bread basket at a few restaurants. Usually the kind of restaurants that serve regional, back to the earth, ingredient driven cuisine. Then in New York, artisan butters of all kinds became available and it seemed like just as we were becoming most worried about our spreading hips, we were also spreading butter around like fiends, too.

Although the artisan and specialty butter trend didn’t spread to Canadian grocery stores (likely due to our strict dairy rules), goat butter is now available in some cheese shops, at farmer’s markets and at fancy grocers. I bought this half-pound of goat butter at Whole Foods and it was, sadly, past its prime. Fresh goat butter is sweet and has a subtle tangy edge that is similar but milder than the flavour that makes chèvre so distinctive. Old goat butter smells like sour milk.

If you can find a fresh slab of this fatty spread, do pick it up. Your guests will feel like dairy queens (and kings) when you serve goat butter with fresh bread or as a garnish for steamed garden fresh veggies. In fact, using artisan butter of any kind is a great way to elevate an otherwise ordinary menu to a higher culinary level.

10 Responses to Goat butter

  1. I love chèvre. I know our Farmers’ Market has artisan goat cheeses but I didn’t think to ask about butter. I’ll have to check this out on Saturday. Oh, with some good hearth bread and fresh tomatoes… I’m salivating just thinking about it.

  2. Cheryl says:

    I love, love goat cheese of all kinds. In fact, I used a goat brie on the fig and watercress salad on my blog yesterday. But I’ve never seen, nor honestly looked for, goat butter. Sounds like something I’d like, though. Love that you continue to expose us to these new types of products…

  3. danamccauley says:

    It’s my pleasure to spread the gospel of goat butter. : )

  4. Mara says:

    I’m a big fan of goat butter. When I first tried it, I was surprised by how much I liked it. To me, it tastes lighter than cow butter.

    I discovered it at the Natural Product Expo. One of the vendors sent me home with a free block of it in a bag of ice so it wouldn’t melt. 🙂 I’ve been hooked ever since.

  5. danamccauley says:

    I agree. That little bit of tang does lead to a slightly lighter finish.

  6. MilmOffitty says:

    Excellent web pages Successes and prosperity to you!

  7. Debbi says:

    I was at a wine and cheese tasting at Mount Pleasant Cheese on Cambie last week and the theme was “anything but cow” cheeses. They were served with wheat/gluten-free crackers and bread and one slice had the goat’s milk butter on it. I was sold! Now to find fresh for myself! It was light and creamy, tasted close enough to butter for me and I’m sure, like goats milk cheeses, must be lower in fat and calories! Now to actually find a supplier here in Vancouver!

  8. danamccauley says:

    Debbi: Here in Ontario Mornington makes it. I’m guessing that someone from Salt Spring Island must make it, too since they have such good goat cheese coming from there. Try Choices and Wholefoods first and maybe Urban Fare. Two other good places to ask are Meinhardt’s and Gourmet Warehouse. Someone will have a line on it!

  9. Debbi says:

    thanks, Dana! I’ll check those out!

  10. Jeff says:

    Hewitt’s Dairy has a full range of goat milk products at the Big Carrot including fresh chevre and goat cream butter.

Leave a Reply

