The bastard offspring of gourmet cupcakes and frosting shots

Image by Evans Caglage, published in the Dallas Morning News

Do you ever wonder what bakers do with the damaged cupcakes and the leftover frosting in the bottom of the bowl? If you thought they threw scraps away, guess again. They turn them into profits.

Don’t believe me? Check out this story about cake balls. Apparently cake balls are big as wedding favours and at Neiman Marcus.

I totally understand craving a one or two bite indulgence but may I suggest a a fresh and fabulous mini cupcake instead?

10 Responses to The bastard offspring of gourmet cupcakes and frosting shots

  1. danamccauley says:

    Hi readers – I notice that this picture is coming and going: I could see it a moment ago but now that I reloaded this page, it’s gone. I’m going to try to figure out this glitch but, in the meantime, if you have a ‘?’ in the middle of a white box instead of a picture, just click the story link. It features the same shot.

    Sorry for any inconvenience. I’m a food writer, not a techie.

  2. Sheryl says:

    These look really cool. But the reference to confectionery coating as “almond bark” is somewhat disconcerting – I read through most of the article wondering what you were supposed to do with the almonds.

  3. danamccauley says:

    I agree Sheryl, that is confusing in the recipe that comes with the article.

  4. Beth says:

    These are just like rumballs or sugar plums except held together with sugar and butter instead of booze.

  5. Cheryl says:

    Forgive me, but this ridiculous concept brings to mind my favorite Saturday Night Live skit of all time. Anchor yourself to something so you don’t fall off your chair: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ne_LCcMkqaI&feature=related

  6. danamccauley says:

    Ha! Cheryl, thanks for sharing.

    That video reminds me of the another SNL winner: the fake commercial for the Mexican restaurant where they wrap a taco in a burrito, in a pizza,…etc until in the end they have 100 lbs of food in a tote bag that gets topped up with salsa.

  7. Christine says:

    I thought the article was interesting. You have a home maker who got rave reviews over a product she made, found a niche in the market and capitalized on it. Wish I could do something like that. I just don’t understand why they would include the recipe.

  8. danamccauley says:

    I like her story, too. I’m just surprised that leftovers can be such big biz.

    And, I don’t see an issue with sharing recipes. So much about enjoying certain foods lies in the fact that they were made for you. After all, anyone can find a recipe for a great cupcake and fab buttercream frosting but Magnolia and Crumbs still sell them by the gross.

  9. Cheryl says:

    Yes, Dana! I loooooved that fake commercial, too. “Wait! That’s not all! You also get 6 dozen cheesy breadsticks stuffed with the finest white meat chicken nuggets!” Cracked me up.

  10. My mom used to do this kind of thing with leftover pasty or batter. We loved it. Nothing wrong with turning frugal into fabulous.

    My favourite SNL was Phil Hartman as the anal-retentive chef.

Leave a Reply

