French fry holder

It’s been boring around our house in the evenings the last week or so. There is nothing on TV (next week is premier week – yeah!) and I’ve been dieting so baking cookies and coming up with creative snacks has been off my roster. How have I filled the time? Getting caught up on my reading. And look at the kind of stuff I missed while I spent the summer getting pudgy! A cup holder adapter for holding fast food French fries was invented! Amazing, isn’t it?

Despite soaring gas prices and greater awareness of how gas emissions harm the environment, we haven’t abandoned our cars. Instead, commuters who fled to the hills when faced with sky-high urban housing prices overburden our roads. Because these people spend many hours a week in their cars, the way we use our cars has changed, too.

Entertainment systems, massaging heated seats and cup holders galore are now pretty standard in most new passenger vehicles while some luxury cars now come with air chilled glove boxes and console coffee makers for people too lazy to even go through a drive through.

I personally prefer to eat at a table but I suppose it’s nice to know that if I ever become fused to the seat of my car that French fry consumption has been figured out for me.

What about you: do you eat in the car often? And, if you do, do you like it or endure it as a necessary evil?

8 Responses to French fry holder

  1. Terry says:

    I’m with you Dana, I like to sit down and eat. Occasionally, I’ll eat in the car, but I’m not happy about it.

  2. Cheryl says:

    That invention is truly a sign of the times. In fact, I think it’s the perfect symbol of everything that’s wrong with our society. I don’t mean to be all melodramatic (oh, but I know that I am), but I just look at that French fry holder and think: why couldn’t they make it in the shape of an apple instead?

    And no, I don’t eat in the car.

    Your blog got me riled up this morning, Dana!

  3. danamccauley says:

    RIled up – that’s great!

    I do eat in the car on road trips but I’m lucky that my commute is only 6 minutes to and from work. There’s really no need for me to eat in the car.

    That said, I’m a bit of hypocrite since I’ve always kept snacks handy in case I had cranky kids in the car. My son has eaten in the car his whole life. I hope I haven’t made a big mistake and prepetuated bad habits.

  4. I’ll confess to drinking coffee or water in the car, but rarely eat on the road unless I’m on an all day trip.

    I guess you could put carrot sticks in the holder, but like Cheryl says, this is a sign of the times.

    The Europeans don’t get our obsession with cup holders. Stop for a coffee, then drive on. Stop for a meal and then hit the road. Granted, distances tend to be shorter, but they also don’t mindlessly multitask like we do. Could explain the differences in their waistlines.

    What bugs me most is that you just know (some) parents are going to use this as yet another means of keeping the kids quiet in the car. As if DVD players and laptop video games aren’t enough.

    Sigh…

  5. Cakespy says:

    Whoa. Good to know that when I decide to take that long and pleasurable descent down to morbid obesity, I’m not gonna spill fries all over myself since there’s a holder now!

    Of course I don’t have a car and that would probably be a problem.😉

  6. danamccauley says:

    Cakespy, perhaps this holder could be modified to fit on a bike or into a cuff style bracelet that you could wear on your wrist as you walk around Seattle?

  7. Rosa says:

    Crazy! I don’t own a car, so that can’t happen ;-P… But, the only time it happened was in England when we bought Fish & Chips or went for a walk and had to picnic in the car because it was pouring outside!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  8. Serty says:

    I eat in my car. We don’t have a break room at work, and so I just sit in my car. But considering I live down a dirt road, there’s more dirt and pine needles and whatnot in the floor of my car, why worry about a few crumbs?

    I seldom eat fast food, though, so while this kind of funny, I doubt I’ll ever need one.

Leave a Reply

