Proudly below average

A couple of weeks ago when I wrote about how I was a couple of pounds heavier than the average Canadian woman, I was a bit chagrinned with myself since last winter I had been thin, trim and happily below average. Just like every autumn of my adult life, I had gained weight.

Well, today I’m happy to say that I am once again below average! It’s been a couple of weeks of sacrifice and quite a few laps around my neighbourhood’s park trails but I’m now more than three pounds below average weight and still six inches taller than average. As a result I’m both above and below average at the same time. It’s a happy paradox!

While I’d love to celebrate with a donut, I’m smart enough to know that moderation will be my key to long-term victory. Or, it would be if I got a new job that didn’t require me to eat all day long, to develop 30+ holiday baking recipes each May, etc.. But, I digress.

What are my slimming food secrets? They aren’t rocket science, but here are three superhero snacks that I’ve found helpful as I’ve whittled my ass down to fit back into my skinny jeans:

• Green Giant Essentials Fibre (blend with pearl barley) makes a great lunch
• Soup at Hand Garden Tomato is my afternoon snack choice when I crave a mocha mid afternoon.
• Summer Fresh Salads Snackn’ Go Hummus is just the right amount of highly flavoured protein to make salad a satisfying lunch.
• Do you have any superhero skinny snacks you can recommend?

6 Responses to Proudly below average

  1. Don’t be hard on yourself, Dana. I think we’re genetically programmed to put on weight in autumn in anticipation of the long, hard winter. Our DNA isn’t prepared for heated houses and stocked pantries.

    Anyway, you should be proud of getting yourself back in shape the hard way — diet and exercise. So many people starve their asses into skinny jeans.

    I’m not much of a snacker and if I get the munchies it usually means I’m bored or under prolonged stress. When I had a desk job that did just that, I relied on black bean dip eaten on cucumber slices to keep me away from the M&Ms. High in protein and fibre, low in fat and carbs. Homemade, of course, but it took only a minute to make with a hand blender.

  2. Cheryl says:

    Good for you, Dana! My go-to snack is apples and peanut butter. The apples b/c of the flavor and fiber, and the peanut butter because of the protein jolt and dose of good fat. In my research, the one thing I’ve been told again and again is that people who forgo fat when they snack make a mistake. It’s important to get some good fats in there to provide sateity, otherwise you’re more apt to overeat later in the day.

    But you’ve obviously found some products that provide measurable results, and you know what they say: if it ain’t broke…

  3. The modern obsession with a thin body is another problem that women face now a days. Women try everything in order to get this extra pounds off, things like pills, patches, diet, hunger, exercises and all kind of weight loss products. Some of them work, but others – not.

    Weight loss industry is focusing on the way people should feel while doing it, in order to achieve better results and stay healthy all the time. Being healthy and thin is not a dream, it should be something, that is a reasonable and easy to be done.

  4. danamccauley says:

    I might be a victim of the media and the advertising conglomerate but I do feel better about myself and I have more confidence when I’m the weight I am now. Add 10 pounds and it’s all different.

  5. dinnerwithjulie says:

    I make my own granola with maple syrup and honey but no added fat (besides the nuts and seeds) and eat it over 2.5% Liberty Organic yogurt (or a local variety) sweetened with a bit of honey or maple syrup, and fresh or frozen berries. I could eat it for breakfast, lunch and snacks!

  6. Cheryl says:

    Okay, before I read the comments I was going to give you mine of homemade granola with honey and vanilla over Liberte yoghurt, with maple syrup and a banana or whatever fruit is arounf – but I see Julie put down the exact same snack! Seriously, Julie, it is almost starting to get creepy.

Leave a Reply

