Cracking up

A proliferation of crackers makes me wonder just how much cheese people are eating. Truly, it seems that every day I find a new cracker in the store or in the arms of a PR package-carrying courier.

According to the American Dietetic Association, 75 percent of men and women snack at least once a day. Moreover, information I found from a 2007 e-newsletter published by Food In Canada magazine showed that cracker volume sales were up 4% over 2006 sales. Seems like the cracker business is hot!

But with so much new choice and prices as high as $7 a box, it’s more difficult than ever to make choices in the cracker aisle. With the holiday entertaining season just around the corner, the stress in that part of the grocery store is palpable! (Okay, so I exaggerate. Get over it!).

In my typically altruistic fashion, I’ve done some sampling and share with you now some of my top cracker finds:

Lesley Stowe Raincoast Crisps Fig and Olive
Ace Bakery Cranberry and Raisin Artisan Crisps
Stacy’s Pita Chips
Petite Maison Pain Rustique Rosemary & Sea Salt

3 Responses to Cracking up

  1. I’m not a cracker fan but these gourmet versions are changing my mind. A far cry from the Ritz and saltines we ate with Campbell’s soup as a child!

    I like Raincoast Rosemary, Raisin and Pecan with chevre. Being a rosemary fanatic, I just might have to give those Petite Maison crackers a try.

  2. Rosa says:

    I love crackers, especially when served with dips such as hummus, baba ganoush or tzatziki! Those look very good!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. Hélène says:

    I have to admit that I love cheese & crackers. It’s my snack everyday. I buy the Stacy’s Pita Chips at Costco. I also tried the Rainbow Crisps and they are really good. I doubt I’ll be able to find the Ace Bakery or Petite Maison crackers around this town. Thanks for the review.

Leave a Reply

