Justifying cake for breakfast

Last night O and I watched Monday’s Heroes season 3 debut on our PVR and all I could think about during the episode was sweets – the craving still hasn’t subsided. In fact, all I wanted for breakfast this morning was cake. And not just a small piece but a big honking wedge.

Call them muffins, tea loaves or quick breads, cake for breakfast isn’t really all that unusual. In fact, I think that Bill Cosby was completely correct when he pointed out that chocolate cake contains eggs, milk and flour – the very same ingredients in many other balanced breakfast favourites.

And, depending on your sleep habits, having cake for breakfast could be considered just a very, very late dessert.

Excluding muffins and other permissible breakfast cakes, have you ever tucked into a wedge of black forest cake or a square of cream cheese frosted carrot cake for breakfast?

I’ll admit that in my 42 years I‘ve raised a cake-laden fork to my lips on more than a few morning occasions. I don’t indulge in early day cake often, but when I do, it’s always a good day.

10 Responses to Justifying cake for breakfast

  1. Beth says:

    So, did you have cake for breakfast today?

    And, yes, I have eaten cake for breakfast a few times myself.

  2. danamccauley says:

    No, I didn’t succumb today for two reasons:

    1. I snacked way too much last night due to said craving and I felt/feel guilty
    2. We had no cake and I didn’t stop for a bought coffee.

    Here’s what I did have: cafe au lait, 1/2 tortilla with cheese. Not nearly as satisfying as cake, I’m afraid.

  3. Cheryl says:

    Jeez, I haven’t had chocolate in about a week and can’t tell you how good that layer cake looks. What I wouldn’t give for a piece.

    I haven’t had cake “for breakfast” but I have been known to tuck into a leftover slice just to make sure it doesn’t disappear by the time I get around to eating it later in the day. There’s nothing worse than having your eye on a sweet, turning your back for a minute or an hour, and finding that someone else has beaten you to the punch.

  4. Rebecca says:

    At the German bakery where I worked, there was a group of elderly German women who would come one morning a week and eat Black Forrest Cake for breakfast. Life is short. Eat dessert first.

  5. I’ve had cake for breakfast before. Heck, Boxing Day breakfast is ALWAYS leftover Christmas trifle, which is cake, custard, whipped cream and booze!

    Frankly, if you read what’s in most high-sugar cereals, you’re not much further ahead eating Count Chocula — and I know your cake tasted WAY better.

  6. Puglette says:

    Yum! That cake is beautiful. I haven’t had a cake that good looking in so long…it just looks like it will taste so good with that glass of milk with the buttertart.

  7. danamccauley says:

    Why thank you puglette – you seem like my kinda dessert eater – hope you pop in again.

    Charmian, you make a good point about those sugary cereals. Every once in awhile I break down and buy one for O and I always cringe when I watch him eat them in the morning. In fact, I likely would be happier seeing him eat cake than Sugar Crisp. At least I know that my cake is made with great quality ingredients.

    Rebecca, I aspire to being one of those old ladies. Good for them!

    Cheryl, that is good advice. I’ve had my mouth set for a treat on more than one occasion and then been disappointed to find it gone by the time I’ve earned my reward.

  8. Corner Punch says:

    Corner Punch…

    […]Justifying cake for breakfast « Dana McCauley’s food blog[…]…

  9. เค้ก says:

    Your means of explaining everything in this post is actually nice, every one be capable of simply know it, Thanks a lot.

Leave a Reply

